Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 18, 2011 | 3:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 24, 2011
  • Daily Feature May 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

5/22/11-NEW ENDING ADDED

THIS IS A SATIRE. Captain Ig'nant represents the unfortunate hold of negative stereotypes placed upon the black community. I am black, most of the voices are black, and if you pass this off as "racist" and do attempt to understand the message, you are not doing any favor for the issues. This is meant to make people laugh yes but also point out the flaws in the current image of black America.

This is my animation for my junior thesis at the University of the Arts. And yes I got an 'A', haha, thank you Elliot Cowan.

Whenever a black person even THINKS about acting rationally, or dares to rise above stereotypes, your friendly hood-ass Captain Ignant is there to save the day! From African Americans getting shot for ridiculous reasons, to suburbanite black kids trying to be hood, Captain Ignant is there to keep black people the way they were "supposed" to be: IG'NANT!

Animated in Toon Boom Animate 2
Composited/Special Effects in Adobe After Effects CS5
Most voices recorded with Blue Yeti Microphone

Reviews


Metroidman95Metroidman95

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2011

Yo fo sho

Dat shit is of the hook.



Maxwellus45Maxwellus45

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 10, 2011

"Represent"

I'm black and I find this hilarious



libbers123libbers123

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 10, 2011

This was the most hillarious video on newgrounds!

I was bit by a radioactive motha fuckin catfish!



SpelonkerSpelonker

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 9, 2011

S'alright

Pretty well animated I must say. But god damn does it remind me of the N***a Moments episode of The Boondocks. Regardless, it's well put together.



SoapbubbleSoapbubble

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 9, 2011

***

I'm not sure what I think. The quality of the artwork, animation and voice acting is mint, but I didn't even smile. I get the humour, it just doesn't appeal to me, and I review subjectively. I get the whole sarcastic look on how the society (at least in the States) is right now, and I appreciate that.

Might be because I didn't understand half of what was said. I blame that on having English as my second language.


People find this review helpful!