Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 17, 2011 | 4:19 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Shmusicup (Shoot-music-up) is a hybrid of a rhythm/music game and a shoot'em up where the enemy bullet patterns are generated by any mp3 chosen from your music collection!

Choose an mp3 from your computer or select one of the free songs provided to begin.

Arrow keys - Movement
Z - Shoot
X - Bomb
P - Pause
C - Continue

More instructions can be found in the game, under "How to Play".

Awesome to get awarded "Daily 2nd Place - 05/18/2011"!

Thanks for all the support and votes! If you liked Shmusicup please recommend us for a collection as well! Would be great to be featured in the shooters collection here!

**Major update 09/06/11**
Released Flare stage and Graze mode for free! Experience the intense bullet patterns of Flare!

Thank you as well for all the reviews and feedback, as much as we want to reply to each individual, we are getting quite busy with fixing bugs and testing out suggestions for improvements so we apologise if we missed out anyone. Rest assured that we read through each and every one of the reviews though, so your voices and feedback are definitely heard!

- Update -
21/5/11 - Added error message for players who experience the bug in some browsers where more than one Flash is running
20/5/11 - Fixed album art bug

Note: After much investigation and research we finally found out the problem where some players cannot play the game in some browsers. Unfortunately this problem lies in the Adobe Flash plugin, and is caused when more than one Flash is running (including advertisements). The bug is in the computeSpectrum command, which we used in our game. Adobe has already been notified of the bug and a detailed bug report can be found here: http://bugs.adobe.com/jir a/browse/FP-147

This problem is most prominent in Google Chrome, whereas most players with Firefox and Safari are fine, although some did reported the issue. (An update to the Flash player should solve the issue in Firefox / Safari). So far there have not been complaints for Internet Explorer.

The game now traps the error and provides instructions on how to work around it. A workaround for this problem is to either close any other Flash running, or run the game in a different web browser. Alternatively PC players can also download the game from www.shmusicup.com.

It has been an arduos task trying to fix this elusive bug, and we're pretty disappointed that in the end we need to depend on Adobe's fix, which obviously will take some time.

Very sorry for the inconvenience caused. We hope that Adobe resolves this issue as soon as possible. Thank you for your understanding!

Reviews


theCapitaotheCapitao

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 21, 2011

Wonderful

9/10 is a really, really great rating from me; I see a lot of shitty games in top week, many 10 stars etc; but this game, deserve one 9/10. If you play with sephiroth theme, and epic songs, this game becomes beautiful; if someone rate low stars, its because just like eletronic and pop music, or wasnt able to play. Congratulations.


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Hi theCapitao, great that you enjoyed it, and thanks for the rating!


lilstowlilstow

Rated 0 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

doesn't work at all

once again any game with the mochi games logo on it is guaranteed to suck

problem: i was able to put the music in fine but then it goes to the game and nothing but music.
i tried to refresh but nothing happened

i give you 0/5 and 0/10 because i do not believe you deserve any points for a supposed game that does nothing


Tzai responds:

Hi lilstow, sorry that you haven't been able to play the game. There is an issue in some browsers that if more than one Flash is running (including ads), the game might not run properly. Please try playing the game at www.shmusicup.com without other Flash running. We are working hard to solve this problem, very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

By the way this game is not produced by mochi, games that have the logo are just using their ads system, which provides us with some revenue to continue producing games. Thank you for your understanding!


OyonOyon

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Doesn't work.

why doesn't this work? i tried browsing some of my songs, but even if i put in a famous song like "Above the Clouds" by Gang Starr, it doesn't work.

all i get is some annoying sound.


Tzai responds:

Hey Oyon, sorry that your songs do not work. Due to Flash limitations there are a small number of mp3s that are not compaitable with the online version. Please try the download version at www.shmusicup.com, which has better support for mp3 and other file formats such as aac, m4a, flv and mp4. Hope you will enjoy it! Thanks!


ScelScel

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Not worth $10

You offer the full version of this game for $10. Yet it's not even as complete and satisfying to me as Audiosurf. And Audiosurf was only $5 when I bought it. This is an okay game, but it's hardly worth the usual retail price you're requesting. I'm sorry.


Tzai responds:

Hi Scel, thanks for playing the game. We too love Audiosurf and think that it is a fantastic game, please understand that Audiosurf has been out for quite a bit and its initial retail price was much higher than $5. Please do check back for promotions or discounts in the future where you might be able to get a bargain deal with Shmusicup. Thanks for your feedback!


ShokkurShokkur

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Really cool, but...

No mouse control? Really?

I'm not going to pay ten bucks for your flash game. I understand you run a business but I'd like to be able to play more than 1/3 of it as is.


Tzai responds:

Hi Shokkur, thanks for playing and your understanding. The lite version is free to play and we are equally glad if players choose to continue to play it without buying. The extended version is to cater to players who want more, all players are important to us! We will look into mouse control as well, thanks for your feedback!