Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 17, 2011 | 4:19 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Shmusicup (Shoot-music-up) is a hybrid of a rhythm/music game and a shoot'em up where the enemy bullet patterns are generated by any mp3 chosen from your music collection!

Choose an mp3 from your computer or select one of the free songs provided to begin.

Arrow keys - Movement
Z - Shoot
X - Bomb
P - Pause
C - Continue

More instructions can be found in the game, under "How to Play".

Awesome to get awarded "Daily 2nd Place - 05/18/2011"!

Thanks for all the support and votes! If you liked Shmusicup please recommend us for a collection as well! Would be great to be featured in the shooters collection here!

**Major update 09/06/11**
Released Flare stage and Graze mode for free! Experience the intense bullet patterns of Flare!

Thank you as well for all the reviews and feedback, as much as we want to reply to each individual, we are getting quite busy with fixing bugs and testing out suggestions for improvements so we apologise if we missed out anyone. Rest assured that we read through each and every one of the reviews though, so your voices and feedback are definitely heard!

- Update -
21/5/11 - Added error message for players who experience the bug in some browsers where more than one Flash is running
20/5/11 - Fixed album art bug

Note: After much investigation and research we finally found out the problem where some players cannot play the game in some browsers. Unfortunately this problem lies in the Adobe Flash plugin, and is caused when more than one Flash is running (including advertisements). The bug is in the computeSpectrum command, which we used in our game. Adobe has already been notified of the bug and a detailed bug report can be found here: http://bugs.adobe.com/jir a/browse/FP-147

This problem is most prominent in Google Chrome, whereas most players with Firefox and Safari are fine, although some did reported the issue. (An update to the Flash player should solve the issue in Firefox / Safari). So far there have not been complaints for Internet Explorer.

The game now traps the error and provides instructions on how to work around it. A workaround for this problem is to either close any other Flash running, or run the game in a different web browser. Alternatively PC players can also download the game from www.shmusicup.com.

It has been an arduos task trying to fix this elusive bug, and we're pretty disappointed that in the end we need to depend on Adobe's fix, which obviously will take some time.

Very sorry for the inconvenience caused. We hope that Adobe resolves this issue as soon as possible. Thank you for your understanding!

Reviews


ConservativeGirlConservativeGirl

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Really good game

Pretty easy though


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Hi ConservativeGirl, glad that you liked it. The full version has more bosses that increases in difficulty and other challenge modes. Please try it out at www.shmusicup.com, hope you like it! Thanks!


MSLynkMSLynk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Excellent.

I liked this game's idea almost immediately, because it's an engaging thought. Not only being able to listen to your music, but having the game generate the combat to follow its rhythm? Needless to say I was intrigued.

To be frank, I wasn't disappointed. The game plays excellently, and it was interesting choosing which songs to use in this. It was an interesting mix. The bullet patterns generated weren't ridiculously impossible, and even when my mix only generated one type of bullet storm at one time there was enough of a challenge that I wasn't bored.

I kind of wish that it generated a pre-level before the boss enemy, but other than that no complaints.


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Thanks MSLynk! We are putting the main focus on the boss fight in this game, on the other hand minions that are generated from the music for you to shoot at would have been awesome! Great suggestion, we will be looking at including it in the sequel/future games.


purepower2purepower2

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

bring back memories

this game really brought back memories about other games like this for the older consoles like ps1 nitendo 64 and gamecube all in all theis game pwns and listening to it with emeinem not afraid pwns.


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Hi purepower2, great that you are enjoying Shmusicup, we love shmups from the previous era, and we hope our attempt at adding something new to an awesome genre is well-received. Thanks!


BafanaBafana

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2011

Great game...

I might be showing my age but these games were great back in the day, and now there is one that interacts with my music! I don't know what the other reviews are on, this worked fine & I killed the boss. Using Chrome. Good work =)


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Hey Bafana, glad that you are enjoying the game! Thanks!


hodyonhandlehodyonhandle

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2011

what?

not sure how these other 2 even played the game cause no matter what i do the character never pops up, i can't shoot anything, the monsters tentacles are faintly visible at the top of the screen but there's nothing happening. i gave you 1 star cuz the concept is neat but it doesn't work.


Tzai responds:

Hi hodyonhandle, there is an issue in some browsers that if more than one Flash is running (including ads), the game might not run properly. If that happens you can try playing the game at www.shmusicup.com without other Flash running. We are working hard to solve this problem, very sorry for the inconvenience caused.