Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 17, 2011 | 4:19 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Shmusicup (Shoot-music-up) is a hybrid of a rhythm/music game and a shoot'em up where the enemy bullet patterns are generated by any mp3 chosen from your music collection!

Choose an mp3 from your computer or select one of the free songs provided to begin.

Arrow keys - Movement
Z - Shoot
X - Bomb
P - Pause
C - Continue

More instructions can be found in the game, under "How to Play".

Awesome to get awarded "Daily 2nd Place - 05/18/2011"!

Thanks for all the support and votes! If you liked Shmusicup please recommend us for a collection as well! Would be great to be featured in the shooters collection here!

**Major update 09/06/11**
Released Flare stage and Graze mode for free! Experience the intense bullet patterns of Flare!

Thank you as well for all the reviews and feedback, as much as we want to reply to each individual, we are getting quite busy with fixing bugs and testing out suggestions for improvements so we apologise if we missed out anyone. Rest assured that we read through each and every one of the reviews though, so your voices and feedback are definitely heard!

- Update -
21/5/11 - Added error message for players who experience the bug in some browsers where more than one Flash is running
20/5/11 - Fixed album art bug

Note: After much investigation and research we finally found out the problem where some players cannot play the game in some browsers. Unfortunately this problem lies in the Adobe Flash plugin, and is caused when more than one Flash is running (including advertisements). The bug is in the computeSpectrum command, which we used in our game. Adobe has already been notified of the bug and a detailed bug report can be found here: http://bugs.adobe.com/jir a/browse/FP-147

This problem is most prominent in Google Chrome, whereas most players with Firefox and Safari are fine, although some did reported the issue. (An update to the Flash player should solve the issue in Firefox / Safari). So far there have not been complaints for Internet Explorer.

The game now traps the error and provides instructions on how to work around it. A workaround for this problem is to either close any other Flash running, or run the game in a different web browser. Alternatively PC players can also download the game from www.shmusicup.com.

It has been an arduos task trying to fix this elusive bug, and we're pretty disappointed that in the end we need to depend on Adobe's fix, which obviously will take some time.

Very sorry for the inconvenience caused. We hope that Adobe resolves this issue as soon as possible. Thank you for your understanding!

Reviews


hitman1993hitman1993

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

is it really?

I know the appeal of this game is that the bullets are supposed to come out to the rhythm of your song but it just doesn't seem like that's the case here. Using Dawn of Battle by Manowar is my prime example. In the middle of the song all instruments stop and there is a slow vocal part. Of course, this should mean the bullets slow down as well, but the rhythm of the bullets didn't change whatsoever. The other aspects of the game are pretty good, though I feel auto-fire would be a good choice. Yep.


Tzai responds:

Hi hitman1993, glad that you like the game overall! The syncing is partly due to balancing of the game to cater for a bigger audience. The music syncs a lot better in later stages where the bosses are harder. They fire more bullets and crazier patterns when given an intense track. Thanks for your suggestions, we'll look into them!


ChemxialChemxial

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Was a good shooter...

But the bullets didn't seem like they where a response to the music, Advent Children One Winged Angel should have given me hell, but it felt like I was playing a shooter with it going the backround.


Tzai responds:

Hello Chemxial, thanks for playing! The patterns are easier at the earlier levels to cater for the not so advanced shmup players, later levels sync better with the music as they fire faster and more intense bullet patterns.


DekabutsuDekabutsu

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

Pretty good

a nice, if slightly unoriginal concept, perfectly executed.
I'm guessing touhou was a major inspiration?
gameplay goes quite well with death metal


Tzai responds:

Hey Dekabutsu, great that you like it! We are great fans of awesome shmups classics, which of course includes Touhou! We drew inspiration from all kinds of games, and Touhou is definitely one of them. Thanks for playing!


nothingness525nothingness525

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

That was so cool!

Excellent work. I played a lot of bullet hell games and I gotta say that this one was pretty good. I had no issues with the game at all and it went very smooth. All in all, good work.


People find this review helpful!
Tzai responds:

Thanks nothingness525, great to know that you like Shmusicup!


darktrinitydarktrinity

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

bugs

i couldnt even play the game i put rob zombie on and pressed play, pressed all the buttons and not once did anything come on it was basically a radio while waiting


Tzai responds:

Hi darktrinity, apologies for not being able to play. There is an issue in some browsers that if more than one Flash is running (including ads), the game might not run properly. Please try playing the game at www.shmusicup.com without other Flash running. We are working hard to solve this problem, very sorry for the inconvenience caused.