Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 16, 2011 | 5:15 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 17, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hey there Newgrounds, it sure has been a while since I uploaded anything substantial.

This is the tale of a young child and his imagination, based on the characters Allen and Merve created by my friend Jim Hort around 5 or 6 years ago when we were both in High School. I always liked the characters and wanted to tell some sort of origin story for the pair. Any meaning deeper then that you can decide for yourself.

This film was started over 2 years ago, first as a music video for a band, then after that fell apart it very much became its own thing. During the production of this film I have changed home 3 times, jobs twice, and god knows what other madness. I never want to take this long to complete anything ever again.

Heres hoping this film gets my butt back into gear and back on track with my film making.

Edit: Thanks for the front page Tom and Company

Reviews


Black-Eye-Garra-PieBlack-Eye-Garra-Pie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 16, 2011

Enjoyable

It was a touching little short to watch, but it was sad when he saw his mom as an evil dragon, even though she was trash anyway.


Gerkinman responds:

In retrospect they should have lived in a trailer.


omnitrix-keeperomnitrix-keeper

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2011

T not E

Nice Animation plot was fantastic but do consider changing the Everyone to a Teenagers the scene where the purple lady does her ''stuff'' isn't suitable for kids.....


Gerkinman responds:

I dunno, it probably looks worse then it really is, we al get itchy sometimes.


DwarfedGiantDwarfedGiant

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2011

Great work, great music.

This accurately represents my childhood.


People find this review helpful!
Gerkinman responds:

Not the lousy mother part I hope D=


DespDesp

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2011

Gerkinman

I've been quite absent from newgrounds from many years, and i've never really made any flash myself. But today i stumbled upon newgrounds again and i decided to watch some of the featured movies. Lo and behold, Gerkinman was the one who did this flash. Had to make an accound to write a review i suppose, never really used my old on and have forgotten both name and email i used. I havent seen any of your stuff in ages man, but i recognized your name at once. Need to watch more of your movies sometime when i got time. I even remember that you showed up in an old flash called: "Decline of video gaming 2". Hope you are good.

The movie was quite good, same with the music. Abit confusing i must admit but maybe there will be more of Allen and Merve in the future?


People find this review helpful!
Gerkinman responds:

Great to see someone who recognizes me from way back when, kids these days, its a different time.

I do indeed have more Allen and Merve planned for the future, tho nothing more with them as kids.


OneyOney

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2011

really like the design

Good job man, only complaint is at some points I didn't follow it so well, try make it more readable, but yeah well done man, that was cool!


People find this review helpful!
Gerkinman responds:

Yeah, I can understand why that would happen, I blame a combination of inexperience when I started the film and having the project stretch out over so many months. Practice makes perfect I suppose.