Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2011 | 5:48 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 22, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place April 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Learn to fly 5 Points Evolve the vertical movement mutation
Blood on your hands 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Destroyer challenge
Phew, that was close 25 Points Get to rank 3 of the Graze challenge
Two Headed Freak 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Mutant challenge
Job done 50 Points Complete the game
You're the man 100 Points Complete all the challenges
There's one for the good guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Work that combo Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Super RedRum Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Putting it simply, this is a bullet hell shooter.

Features:

Procedurally generated enemies:
All the enemy sprites are generated in code, meaning millions of possible baddie images, every game looks different.

Random soundtrack:
By combining 11 drum and bass tracks the in-game soundtrack varies every level.

Evolution path:
The core of the game. Each path provides a unique power-up, giving the player multiple options and ways to play through the game.

Go complete those challenges and earn those medals. Enjoy the destruction.

V1.1:
This update may take a little while to filter through the system, it's only minor amends, so if you're stuck playing plain old v1.0 you're not really missing much.
- Hi-Score text made smaller, as ZeoTerraBladeOmega broke it with his early epic score.
- Bug with certain challenges going over their max value should be fixed, thanks to Yatsufusa.
- On game complete your score is submitted automatically, thanks FoldingDuckling for pointing that out.

Reviews


SergeantLukeSergeantLuke

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 7, 2011

Incredible

While admittedly, most of your concepts here are nothing new, originality is unimportant next to fun, and good lord, DN8 is fun. It begins simple, but GRADUALLY becomes more difficult - a nice touch, compared to the difficulty spikes common with Bullet Hell.

The "evolution" aspect is handled very well; each selectable adaptation gives you a distinct advantage that the other choice does not, and I more than once found myself thinking "oh, I should have picked that one instead." The boss fights are hard at first, but the true extraordinary challenge they provide at the end of the game must be seen to be believed. Although, I have to say, the procedurally generated music and enemies, while a cool idea, aren't particularly interesting to see or hear.

Congratulations, friend. Unlike SOME reviewers on here, I'm giving you a 10/10 because I truly feel you've earned it.


People find this review helpful!
Squize responds:

Thanks man.

I'm the first to admit it's not the most original game in the world, there are lots of influences ( OutRun being one of them, which no one has picked up on yet ).
People do like pointing out the influences though, I've never understood why not being a 100% original in some way detracts from it being a fun game or not.

And rant over :)


About-BlankAbout-Blank

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 7, 2011

Good looking and fun game

The only things are that the bosses(?) that shoot the straight beams of bullets are really easy to exploit for extra lives, and i thought the shield upgrade was much more useful than the double fire alternative. but that might just be me bad at dodging
great game!



Cyros-LugothCyros-Lugoth

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

Kudos on an enjoyable game

I am happy to see that the grazing doesn't give you points, because at one point I sat my ship there, went off to eat peanuts, and all I could hear coming from the speakers is: "...extra life, extra life, extra life, life lost, extra life, extra life, extra life, extra life, life lost, life lost, extra life..."

Kudos on a smart move =]



zigealzigeal

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2011

Reminds me of...

... that game you play in "No More Heroes" on the subway.



neim81094neim81094

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 4, 2011

awesome

simply addicting, a simple concept but i can play all day :D