Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2011 | 5:48 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 22, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place April 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Learn to fly 5 Points Evolve the vertical movement mutation
Blood on your hands 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Destroyer challenge
Phew, that was close 25 Points Get to rank 3 of the Graze challenge
Two Headed Freak 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Mutant challenge
Job done 50 Points Complete the game
You're the man 100 Points Complete all the challenges
There's one for the good guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Work that combo Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Super RedRum Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Putting it simply, this is a bullet hell shooter.

Features:

Procedurally generated enemies:
All the enemy sprites are generated in code, meaning millions of possible baddie images, every game looks different.

Random soundtrack:
By combining 11 drum and bass tracks the in-game soundtrack varies every level.

Evolution path:
The core of the game. Each path provides a unique power-up, giving the player multiple options and ways to play through the game.

Go complete those challenges and earn those medals. Enjoy the destruction.

V1.1:
This update may take a little while to filter through the system, it's only minor amends, so if you're stuck playing plain old v1.0 you're not really missing much.
- Hi-Score text made smaller, as ZeoTerraBladeOmega broke it with his early epic score.
- Bug with certain challenges going over their max value should be fixed, thanks to Yatsufusa.
- On game complete your score is submitted automatically, thanks FoldingDuckling for pointing that out.

Reviews


jjose99jjose99

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

GREAT

One of the great shooter games i played. Its a bit slow though.



GreatBigFishGreatBigFish

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

Yeah!

Cool game. I really liked the gradual difficulty curve - at first I though "Meh, boring", but sticking to it had some nice payoffs in enjoyment and difficulty.

What REALLY bothered me was the fact that you put the Redrum bar at the bottom of the screen and made so your ship flies under it. In any bullet hell game I've played, moving to the centre middle is often the best strategy, because the bullets are most spread out and you have some leeway to move left and right This was eliminated by that Redrum bar, which made gameplay awkward at times (along with the fact that you can't move your ship to the very top of the screen either, which I kept thinking was possible by accident).

Also, I haven't played through the other mutation pathways yet, but having sidepods makes you virtually invincible against anything coming from the side, which ends up being a pretty big number if you use em right. I'm not sure if this was intentional and everything else is balanced appropriately, but yeah.

anyways


People find this review helpful!
Squize responds:

Thanks for the excellent review mate, I could have done with you beta testing.

Screen real estate was always an issue. I deliberately made the screen small to make it seem busier with less sprites, but that caused issues when it came to adding to the HUD. There wasn't a combo counter on there for a long time, it's only when people highlighted the need for it that I had to add it, which ate into more space.

As to the sidepods, the bottom path with the shield is easier. I wanted to balance the game so most people can complete it, it's meant to be 15 mins of fun that hopefully you'll go back to to see the other paths. The power-ups you get should always be more powerful than you actually need, I want to empower the player so that you always have the tools you need to complete a level ( That's why the Super RedRum is so over the top. It's basically a smart bomb, just pushed that little bit further ).

Thanks again for the review.


heyevansNGheyevansNG

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

Intense game

I have mono right now so I'd imagine something similar is going on in my bloodstream right now. Also the pilot is Osmosis Jones. Awesome game though.


Squize responds:

Wish you better man, and Osmosis Jones made me giggle. Thanks for the kind words.


ProswatProswat

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

umm...

it's a good game but why do those ships keep saying crocoface?



AcetheSuperVillainAcetheSuperVillain

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

Excellent Shooter

Terrific game. The evolution system is great, it's like you can play multiple shooter games in one. Some aspects are a bit bland, and it's a little slow to start, which is sort of a pain when you want to retry it with different evolutions, but on the whole, it's an excellent and inventive shooter.


People find this review helpful!