Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2011 | 5:48 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 22, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place April 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Learn to fly 5 Points Evolve the vertical movement mutation
Blood on your hands 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Destroyer challenge
Phew, that was close 25 Points Get to rank 3 of the Graze challenge
Two Headed Freak 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Mutant challenge
Job done 50 Points Complete the game
You're the man 100 Points Complete all the challenges
There's one for the good guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Work that combo Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Super RedRum Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Putting it simply, this is a bullet hell shooter.

Features:

Procedurally generated enemies:
All the enemy sprites are generated in code, meaning millions of possible baddie images, every game looks different.

Random soundtrack:
By combining 11 drum and bass tracks the in-game soundtrack varies every level.

Evolution path:
The core of the game. Each path provides a unique power-up, giving the player multiple options and ways to play through the game.

Go complete those challenges and earn those medals. Enjoy the destruction.

V1.1:
This update may take a little while to filter through the system, it's only minor amends, so if you're stuck playing plain old v1.0 you're not really missing much.
- Hi-Score text made smaller, as ZeoTerraBladeOmega broke it with his early epic score.
- Bug with certain challenges going over their max value should be fixed, thanks to Yatsufusa.
- On game complete your score is submitted automatically, thanks FoldingDuckling for pointing that out.

Reviews


SolomonarosSolomonaros

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2012

Solomon has come to judge your game!

Alright, in all seriousness, and speaking as a completely unbiased critic, the gameplay is your standard bullethell. Simple graphics on the baddies add a retro feel and keep them from dragging down the processor so that crazy amounts of junk can be flying in every which direction. The visuals are nice, but not jaw dropping - and I wouldn't want the graphics too high as the speed of things would slow my toaster of a computer down to a crawl... but we don't come to bullet hell shooters for the graphics do we?

No, the meat of the game, the raw, satisfying nougat center of the insanity is always the game play. You can't go wrong with the basic formula, there's enemies flying around in patterns, shooting bullets in patterns, and your job is to shoot them all before being turned into metallic Swiss cheese. The rub is that you have to dodge just right, learn your hit box, and still supply enough bullet of your own to take them down. In essence, you have all the elements of a fun, addictive danmaku. Here's the rub, though.

The game... well... is too easy. You don't make it so that people have to learn the hit box, you announce it with a red dot. The side pods block bullets, giving you a sense of cover, something I don't want in my bullet hell. The best part is that deep awesome feeling you get for dancing between bullets like a Gunkata master and then putting on your shaddes and walking away from the explosion as you blow up the final boss (usually after much blood, sweat, and tears). I didn't have that feeling. I was just like... meh.

Another thing, you took one of the basic mechanics of a good bullet hell, narrow dodging, and made it kind of a challenge. You encourage flying close to the bullets just to give you some extra lives instead of saying "Hey, here's the bullets. Dodge or die." There was plenty of space for me to dodge, making the sense of cramped, narrow dodging seem like an optional thing. The only parts I felt the danger was the boss battles.

Oh yes, your bosses. I was actually quite happy with them. The patterns were call backs to a lot of great mid-bosses I laid to rest in Touhou and Gradius... there were only a few things wrong, I feel. First off, they all felt like midbosses. I didn't get a feeling I was fighting any major baddies. Sure, they took a few hits, but the patterns were easy to learn and dodge. The ones that shot lines of bullets were a little interesting since they ndid one-hit kills if you messed up, but if you dodged just right, you got an EXTRA life from the graze meter maxing out. I ended the game with 30 lives just from those guys alone. I loved the boss rush at the end - which was a sweet call back on your part - but I really was hoping for a big bad boss at the end.

All in all, fun. I sat through till the end, but it felt short, and was way to easy to be up in the ranks of greatness with Touhou and the like. I give it a 4/5 despite all my criticisms. It's not a BAD game, it could just be better.

I look forward to your future submissions.


People find this review helpful!
Squize responds:

Cheers mate, great review.

The game was always meant to be a "Casual" bullet hell, hence using the mouse for control. I wanted people who would never usually play one to have fun without having to learn a million bullet patterns and getting everything pixel perfect.
Proper bullet hell shooters are really niche, and we wanted to avoid that, we want people to complete our games. If someone gives this a go and likes it then moves on to proper bullet hell, then from my point of view that's perfect.


sweatycrisissweatycrisis

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2012

DN8

DN8 is a very simple and good game. The beginning starts out slow like usual games but grows and increases difficulty more into the game.
It isn't great though.
There aren't any real problems but I just seem to loose interest while playing.
The upgrades are okay but really don't change the whole gameplay it's pretty much the same thing.
But don't get me wrong here I still like the game,Just doesn't grab my attention.


Squize responds:

Thanks for the review mate.
It's my game and I'd rate it a 7/8 too, its just meant to be a fun throwaway thing, if people get 15-20mins of fun out of it then I think its done its job, its nothing more than that.

Hmm, you can tell I don't work in marketing :)


CommandLineCommandLine

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2012

Excellent!

This game isn't called bullet hell for nothing. Love the pace. A game worth playing.


Squize responds:

Cheers mate, glad you liked it ( I thought this game would be lost in NG limbo by now ).


amigaboy1800amigaboy1800

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

yayea!

I feel like im actuly in the ship.I might unlock some badges.



thatnerdyguythatnerdyguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 11, 2012

Tons of fun

I enjoyed this more than I've ever enjoyed a bullet hell game.


Squize responds:

Excellent, thank you.