Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2011 | 5:48 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 22, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place April 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Learn to fly 5 Points Evolve the vertical movement mutation
Blood on your hands 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Destroyer challenge
Phew, that was close 25 Points Get to rank 3 of the Graze challenge
Two Headed Freak 25 Points Get to rank 3 in the Mutant challenge
Job done 50 Points Complete the game
You're the man 100 Points Complete all the challenges
There's one for the good guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Work that combo Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Super RedRum Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Putting it simply, this is a bullet hell shooter.

Features:

Procedurally generated enemies:
All the enemy sprites are generated in code, meaning millions of possible baddie images, every game looks different.

Random soundtrack:
By combining 11 drum and bass tracks the in-game soundtrack varies every level.

Evolution path:
The core of the game. Each path provides a unique power-up, giving the player multiple options and ways to play through the game.

Go complete those challenges and earn those medals. Enjoy the destruction.

V1.1:
This update may take a little while to filter through the system, it's only minor amends, so if you're stuck playing plain old v1.0 you're not really missing much.
- Hi-Score text made smaller, as ZeoTerraBladeOmega broke it with his early epic score.
- Bug with certain challenges going over their max value should be fixed, thanks to Yatsufusa.
- On game complete your score is submitted automatically, thanks FoldingDuckling for pointing that out.

Reviews


Gowkaiser96Gowkaiser96

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 3, 2011

Simple Things Can Be Mindblowing

Such as the realization that the little colored arcs weren't background decoration, but giving you a heads up on the path enemy ships will be taking. Very nice.

Of course, one nitpicky problem is that there is no back button if you click the wrong level like some kind of moron... Such as me... God I'm so ashamed (fortunately, pod spiral shots worked out just fine).

I owe those side pods blocking shots my multiple lives. My only game over was because I got greedy trying to get scratches from huge clusters that could blast away all my shields at once... And I kept doing it.

As for all the people talking about 'open up the screen', I've never played any of the "Real" bullet hells so maybe it's more important in those? Screen size was fine to me, but then I'm way to paranoid about where ships normally come from in shooters to ever go to the TOP of the screen. Though, there were a few times I wished my RedRum and Shield bars were not blocking my view when hanging out at the bottom of the screen.

Of course, the fact I don't play any of those "Real" Bullet hells are probably why I felt the difficulty was just right. Enough to make me pay attention and hold a healthy respect for the bullets I'm trying to mooch extra lives off of, but not enough to make me want to stop playing after a 10 minute long seizure inducing bossfight.


People find this review helpful!
Squize responds:

Love your review ( And not just 'cause of the 10 ), thank you mate.
This game was always targeted at players who kinda like the look of bullet hell shooters, but are put off because they're just mentally difficult.

To know I've got it right for you makes me feel I've got it right for a lot more players, and that's what its all about. Giving people 15 mins of mindless shooting fun.

Thanks.


alanmarioalanmario

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 3, 2011

Good

this game is great but I keep pressing new game by accident WTF



GothicGardianGothicGardian

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 3, 2011

HARD AS HELL!!!!

but I had fun beating it so please make another one ok.


Squize responds:

Ok :)
I was toying with the idea of doing a NG exclusive version, just a cut down game with a load of power-ups, no evolution tree, and just waves of bosses, and to make it really hard for everyone who had finished this.

I think if I did that though a lot of people wouldn't see it as a "Thank you" ( Which is what it would be, a thanks for all the support you guys have given me. It would be site locked to NG so only available here ), but just me being cynical and rush creating a half arsed cut down version, and I don't want to spend ages defending something like that.

Pity, as it would rock as a little 1.5 version.

Thanks for the review man.


rjblaze215rjblaze215

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 3, 2011

Very fun game

-Awesome fast paced gameplay
- Loved the Variety of weapons you put on this game
- Funny quotes that come with upgrades :D

Only thing i felt made this game bad was the music. Most of it was dull and boring. Need something to get me PUMPED UP >:D!

Besides that you did a great job! 4/5!



Bmage2290Bmage2290

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 3, 2011

Open up the screen.

Overall it wasn't bad. First few levels were a bit odd, but it helped to explain the game. Would have loved a story to go along with what was happening and the ability to use keys instead of a mouse and more variety of music.

One thing I would like to see changed is that you can use the full screen to move. That was perhaps the most annoying aspect for me in this game, is whenever I'd have to dodge near the top of the screen I'd slam into an invisible wall by the scores. The bottom allows you to move beyond the combo/redrum, so it felt a bit odd having the top blocked off.

Overall it was fun and different style of bullet hell, granted a bit on the tamer side. The upgrade system is a good idea and has potential to keep people playing to find the best combination of upgrades for them.