Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 30, 2011 | 3:12 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature March 31, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place April 6, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This film was completed before I started work on Tarboy, and I figured it was about time I packaged and released it. It was my third year animation project in college and the first larger scale short film I completed. It was also the first project completed that Hania and I collaborated on.

The production of this was an absolute nightmare to say the least. Working on this project was the reason I decided to do Tarboy completely in Flash.

My overall pipeline for animation looked something like this: 1.Draw images on paper. 2. Scan into Photoshop for digital paint. 3. Bring into morphing software for head turns 4. Export into Flash for character animation. 5. Export into After Effects for compositing. 6. Export into Premier for Editing.
I'm thinking this will receive a mixed response, but at this stage I'm glad it's finally out.

Hope you enjoy it, check out the bonus features if you want to learn more about my messy pre-production process.

Reviews


PikanjoPikanjo

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2011

Another Tank Award Winner

The jealousy rages inside me. Those effects are damn awesome, and the art is incredibly original. Scene-setting music fits well. I just wish it didn't end that sudden.



SevenGentlemenSevenGentlemen

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 31, 2011

Utterly incredible

I am almost lost for words...Almost...When it comes to animation, no-one does it better than James Lee! You've given us a beautiful and bleak picture of purgatory, heaven and desperation. This is not just an animation - this is a work of art.



jibjab910jibjab910

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 31, 2011

Definitely creepy at points...

But it was so amazing. It was beautiful.


People find this review helpful!

blackstar88blackstar88

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 28, 2011

let me just start off by saying

EVERYTHING you do is fantastic, totally original and bad-ass you should definetly consider making sequals for your animations though.


People find this review helpful!

animelover63animelover63

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2011

Absolutely stunning yet a bit confusing.

The animation was well thought of and your hard work has paid off indefinitely. The artwork was also more put into detail then anything I've ever seen. It is a bit confusing though. I was thinking that the man was Adam and it was Eve who tempted him a few moments after he entered purgatory. After seeing what he'd done, he understood his sin and regretted it. I was also thinking Heaven forgiven him and forced him back. I don't understand why he was literally forced back there by chains. Although the abrupt beginning where they were forcing him to eat the fruit was where I was lost, the rest eerily fit into place as to what you were at first implying at the beginning.
Anyways, if ever, I'd like to see more and more of your animations (not to sound greedy :P). A word of opinion and advice, you should finish animations you have started before starting new ones, such as Tarboy. I understand if thinking of more ideas to put into the series and that if starting new animations help jog that creative mind of yours. You've done great and we all love it! A flash is a flash that should be appreciated and known! Keep it up ;3


People find this review helpful!