Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 28, 2011 | 2:55 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature March 29, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 30, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Who are you? Where are you? Why are you there? PRIOR: You know nothing.

WASD to move. Right-click to control audio and visual options.

© krangGAMES 2011

kranggames.com
facebook.com/kranggames
twitter.com/kranggames

Reviews


TannerOfTheGuardTannerOfTheGuard

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 10, 2011

Dark but beautiful.

So, I played all the way through, three times, to find all the endings. I thoroughly enjoyed the theme the whole way through, and the endings certainly didn't betray that theme.

On a technical note, I found no bugs and everything seemed to work as intended. A+ for programming. The jump mechanic was especially nice, with the second jump automatically at the peak. Nice touch.

If I have to gripe about something - and of course I do, or this wouldn't be a constructive review - it would be needing to start at the beginning to get the second two endings. Going and getting the double-jump and gravglobe felt a little tiresome. Though, I suppose it sort of goes with the feel. So I can't complain too much.

As for the music, it's perfect. Subtle and dark, it was just right to set the desolate, abandoned mood of the complex. I barely even noticed it as I played, which, to my mind, is exactly what you want in a game like this: music that perfectly sets the tone without ever overwhelming the piece.

And finally, my notes on story. Alas, the lack of a commenting spoiler tag, so those speed-readers among you reading the reviews before playing, notice the following line:

*** SPOILER WARNING ***

I was unsurprised by any of the endings, but even that wasn't a bad thing. The family ending, in particular, was gave me that wonderful horrified feeling as all the pieces fell into place. As I read each note I found myself thinking, "No, don't let me have killed my family. That's just too sad." This made walking into the morgue all the more poignant. The pit and the note at the bottom was an excellent sullen finale I didn't quite see coming.

As for the basement ending, it wasn't until I walked into the room that I realize there wasn't going to be any real answers in there. As soon as I saw the knocked over chair, I knew what I was looking at. But needing to walk through the room and turn the light on to be sure was that same horrified, "let it not be so" feeling. I know a lot of people complain about never finding out about the enemy, but personally I think it fits the flavor of the piece. The enemy, and the war, is not what matters. It's all about the character's experience and what happened to him.

Finally, the city ending. This actually the one I got first. Again, all the notes leading up to it made me expect rubble, so I was actually quite excited when I found what I thought was the intact city. The blast even startled me somewhat, and the simple fade to black was a good end-note.

All in all, I can understand why people complain about the game being depressing. It is depressing. But sometimes that's just right. The world is not a wonderful, perfect place. It's nice to see a game that exhibits the darkness of our existence without hamming any points home or over-dramatizing. This game simply shows the results of the experiments and the war, letting the players own emotions drive the story. A "good ending" would, to my mind, be a betrayal of that story. So, I like it, very much.

*** END SPOILER WARNING ***

All in all, I definitely think this game - or perhaps more accurately: art piece - deserves the front page, let alone my 10/10 rating and long-winded review. Aside from my one minor critique about starting over, I can't find any fault. It's not often I find a game I can say that about.

Well done, and thank you.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

LordBojanglesLordBojangles

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 10, 2011

Only complaint:

Could we get checkpoints or save points or at least a "continue from previous room" after the endgame screens? The game is really very good, but not "replay the whole thing over and over to get the different endings" good, you know?


People find this review helpful!

SaironSairon

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 9, 2011

Very well done

I did like the multiple endings factor, it does get a pain having to do everything over again to get a different ending though. It reminds me of limbo and another game btu I forget which it is called. The ambience is nice, and the graphics fit well. Very nice job, and I look forward to a sequel if there is one.



undeadrhinoundeadrhino

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 9, 2011

Simple and fun, but mightily depressing.

Really liked this game, and I played through repeatedly to get all the endings. The sound fit the game, simple, but just right for the setting. The only thing that would have made it better is a balance, some kind of happy ending scenario. The world is depressing, yes, and I get what you were going for, but there is always a balance of joy to the tragedy, no matter how little. Now I have to invest some time in some Fancypants Adventure so I can recall how to smile.


People find this review helpful!

NotMichelleNotMichelle

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 9, 2011

Dude...

Whatever treasure chest in your mind you got this idea from, I suggest setting up residence there.


People find this review helpful!