Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 22, 2011 | 8:27 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place March 23, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

baby steps 5 Points infect a total of 100 red bloodcells.
do the evolution! 5 Points purchase your first upgrade.
first blood 5 Points destroy a white bloodcell.
i will survive 5 Points at first i was afraid, i was petrified.
this is madness! 5 Points spawn a total of 300 germs.
biohazard 10 Points infect a total of 2500 red bloodcells.
offense is the best defence 10 Points upgrade damage to level 10.
pandemic 10 Points have 65 germs alive at the same time.
resistance is futile 10 Points destroy a total of 900 white bloodcells.
these go to eleven 10 Points upgrade latency to level 11.
woah! 10 Points oh my god it's so intense!
zombie outbreak 10 Points spawn a total of 10000 germs.
actually defence is the best defence 25 Points upgrade immunity to level 9.
autopilot 25 Points upgrade auto-infect to level 8.
can't touch this (endless mode) 25 Points survive a stage without infecting a single bloodcell.
seriously lethal (endless mode) 25 Points earn 3500 EP for a single stage.
unstoppable (endless mode) 25 Points finish 5 stages in a row without dying.
entering the hall of fame 50 Points start from scratch after completing stage 25.
me myself and i 50 Points upgrade reproduction rate to level 6.
the virus has been spread 50 Points finish the final stage of the campaign.
black death 100 Points earn a total of 70000 EP.
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
just one more try Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

The sequel to my game from 2005, with all new graphics, engine and other improvements. Infect red bloodcells, fight against the immune system, do the evolution and go pandemic once more!

Edit 03/24/2011 :
Thanks to everyone who left some constructive criticism.
A stern look of dissaproval at the reviewers that did nothing but whine.

Either way, here's the update!

Changelog v.1.2:
-) Fixed control issue where you would accidentally pick up the wrong germ
-) Germs drifting towards the edge slow down to enable easier herding
-) Fixed NaN bug
-) Fixed "Black Death" Achievement (if you already fell victim to this bug, just hit "Continue Game" and start playing, this should unlock the achievement and medal)
-) Added additional hints regarding the fact that you can save dying germs by quickly dragging them onto the next red bloodcell
-) Made the bigger white bloodcells slightly easier to kill
-) Fixed the wording of the campaign ending screen, of course they are parasitic germs and NOT virii (although they used to be virii in the first game)
-) That's it for now, I would start feeling dirty if I'd please everyone. (also the core issues should be addressed, thus making the overall experience a more pleasant one)

Changelog v.1.21:
-) Made the mute button in the main menu more obvious

Reviews


CorbinoCorbino

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 24, 2011

Mixed emotions.

Game start, pretty laggy for me. Continued to play. Was fun concept. Made it to level 2, I had to stop playing because the game was so slow, not lagging, but beginning gameplay was so slow and boring, maybe try spicing it up a bit.


People find this review helpful!
HeRetiK responds:

you should really check on your attention span O.o


AardwolfAardwolf

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 24, 2011

I wish

Most things I want to say have already been said in other reviews, so I won't repeat them here.

What I'd like to add is that I really wish there was a FUN "endless mode", instead of an endless mode that becomes too hard to win before you can buy all the upgrades you wanted, and that adds so many white blood cells and antibiotica to the screen that the game starts to lag...

At the very least, allow replaying earlier levels with your latest upgrades, to be able to actually ENJOY those upgrades! Buying an upgrade isn't enjoyable if the next level becomes impossible (in endless mode).


HeRetiK responds:

What is this FUN you are talking about? Seriously though, I think you're onto something, I'll keep your idea of an easy endless mode for just messing around in mind.


Shadowslayer159Shadowslayer159

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 24, 2011

Sweet ^^

Great game, good gameplay, good art... and one hell of a fever trip XD



StinkproductionsStinkproductions

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 24, 2011

Finished the campaign..

Not that bad..

3/5



LightRikuLightRiku

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 24, 2011

Excellent idea, soso execution

The idea is great, and despite the game being almost unplayable at times, I kept going because the idea was so good. If you could perfect this, it would be an excellent game. However, there are countless problems with it at this point, such that I feel 5 stars is generous. The whole "if it goes off the screen, it's dead" thing is ridiculous. You can only grab one germ at a time, so how is it fair that if 15 are headed off the screen at once, you can only save one? Seriously, this happens constantly, and auto-infect isn't enough to save them, especially since it's one of the least important upgrades. The most important ones were reproduction rate, immunity, and damage. I think I'd have to say that early on, at least until you get the reproduction rate to level 3, reproduction rate is important, but after that, it's a waste of EP to upgrade it. The most important is immunity, because the damn antibiotics come in levels that should be lethal to the human being, much less the germ. Seriously, as time goes on, the antibiotics start to completely cover the screen, and by the time you finish campaign mode, there's more area covered by antibiotics than not. That's absurd. If a person's blood were that thick with antibiotics, they would die. I mean come on, I couldn't even see the red blood cells behind the clouds, because they started to get so thick and numerous that they were completely opaque. Thank God the viruses don't get obscured by the clouds, or I'd only know where the one I'm holding is, and only by where the pointer is. Then there's the damn white blood cells. As an infection progresses, WBC count should decrease, not increase to the point that there's more WBCs than RBCs! Seriously, by the end of campaign mode, WBCs spawned about twice as often as RBCs. A person would die if they had that few RBCs to transport oxygen. There needs to be a cap on the spawn rate of WBCs so that once you reach a certain level, they don't spawn any faster than the levels before. Same for the antibiotics, so you don't have opaque clouds that you can't see the WBCs and RBCs behind them. And if I'm holding onto a germ, it shouldn't be able to auto-infect. It got to be that the anti-biotic clouds were so thick, that I couldn't see the RBCs and WBCs behind them, and while dragging the last immune germ through a cloud to a small safe area on the other side, either an invisible WBC would eat it, or an invisible RBC would grab it out of my hand as it auto-infected, then once it reproduced, either the new germs would not be immune and die instantly in the cloud, or an invisible WBC would eat the immune ones. RBCs became just as dangerous as WBCs. Speaking of which, did WBCs have to have so much health? Some would die with one or two hits, but those were rare, and the more common ones were the ones that would take out about 6 or 7 viruses, even with my damage level at 7. With about 15-20 WBCs on screen at a time in endless mode, this is a problem. Essentially, endless mode is just a bullet hell game where you avoid everything on screen. The Can't Touch This medal was the easiest endless mode medal to get, because the only way to survive a stage was to spend most if not all your time avoiding everything, even RBCs. Latency upgrades are actually a bad thing, since being able to hide longer in a RBC is a good thing. Ugh, so many problems. Again, I'm only giving 5 stars because it was such a good idea.

In summary:
Cap the spawn rates for WBCs and antibody clouds at a REASONABLE level
Cap the HP of WBCs at a REASONABLE level
Put walls on screen edges that germs will bounce off of so they don't die
Make it so the germ you're holding doesn't auto-infect
Make immunity upgrades better so that the immune germ spawn rate is higher, so that it's more likely that at least one immune germ will spawn that isn't instantly eaten by a WBC.

That's pretty much it, I think. Do all that and it'll be an awesome game. Graphics and music are awesome, though the high number of cells on screen often created lag. Again, it's a great idea, it just needs a little fine-tuning.


People find this review helpful!
HeRetiK responds:

The germs you are holding don't auto-infect, unless you let them go. If you are able to reproduce this on a regular basis let me know and I'll look into it. The screen edge issue will be addressed in the upcoming update. Other than that, endless mode is supposed to kick your infectious little ass after a while. As in SERIOUSLY kicking your ass. As in you either give up, put your virus into the hall of fame and start anew OR keep trying and trying.