Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 16, 2011 | 2:46 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature March 17, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place March 23, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Big Heart 5 Points Click on any donate button.
Speedy 5 Points Beat the game with a score of under 500.
Wavey 5 Points Beat the game on the first difficulty setting.
Surf Crasher 10 Points Beat the game on the second difficulty setting.
Tsunami Crasher 25 Points Beat the game on the last difficulty setting.

Author Comments

Commentary:

This charity game is dedicated to the people of Japan. May those who were lost rest in peace. Nana korobi, ya oki.

Please consider donating whatever you can spare to the people of Japan to help them heal from the recent disaster.

Controls - Mash the correct buttons quickly
'M' - sounds.


Medals - There are medals for easy, medium and hard difficulty modes.

Reviews


ArmouredGRIFFONArmouredGRIFFON

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2011

This was extremely quick work!

Well done!


People find this review helpful!

SubpardoorSubpardoor

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2011

I may have thought that...

.. japan was kind of weird, but, they didn't deserve that earth quake. why won't that happen to osama bin laden or al of alqueda for that matter!!! >:<



CaptainAwesome121090CaptainAwesome121090

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 16, 2011

Kono gmu wa, shika shi, meiyo gen'in ari mancho

Kono gmu wa, shika shi, meiyo gen'in ari mancho sutando shimasen.

For those of you who Still don't know by now why this is relevant, then:
1. Japan was hit by a massive 9.0 magnitude earthquake and its follow-up tsunami on Friday March 10, 2011, leaving as of March 15, 2011 37,000 dead, many injured and even their nuclear facilities in a critically damaged state.
2. I suggest you start reading/watching the news more, but not Fox News; knowing them, they're probably blaming this entire incident on the Democrats' lack of response or something.

With this comes the emergence of many projects to raise money to support money for the damaged country, including this game. Now for those you who are scratching their heads trying to decipher what the heck this title means, it says "This Game Has An Honorable Cause, But Doesn't Stand the Full Tide of Critique"...or at least I think it does, if it doesn't then blame my Engrish-Japanese translator technology. As a human being I would love to say this game is genius and has every right to be in the front page and yah de yah de yah, but as a reviewer, I really have to say that sure the game is good, but that's just it, nothing else.

The first thing that comes to mind is the retro graphics and sound. Indeed their nice and polished and I even appreciate the "Winners Don't Use Drugs edit to "Winners Donate to Charity" to emulate the nostalgic arcade feeling, but it kind of left me disappointed in the choice of it instead of a more Japanimation approach considering the content and the mascot involved; maybe they're were technological restrictions involved as well. Next up comes the core gameplay. It's basically your standard masheronithon of random combination of keys until the big bad waves comes in and gives you a bath. The mashing is fun, but at the beginning of each round just like the real earthquake and tsunami that hit, you barely see it coming to know how to react before the tide completely pins you down with ease. In short it's a linear trial and error game and a short one at that. See, just as I was finally progressing through each Twister-style combination, the tide is defeated and the game is over just like that....if only it were so easy.

So in short, the game itself is a most a good advertisement to press that big red Donate button to Japan. I understand that not much effort shouldn't be involved in such a project that overshadows the main cause behind it, but at least a little more effort should have been made to at least make this game remembered, and making the returning players press that Donate button each time instead of a one-time use. And for those of you haven't yet, why not do it anyway, it'll be for a good cause and you get a NG Medal in return; for you achievement whores out there, that's totally worth it for the medal!!

$ $ $
3 Donations To Japan So Please Don't Ask Me Anymore out of 5

On a More Serious Note: How come all of this is happening now? I mean I understand that it's Japan, the very center of gaming culture and what-not, but why give all the attention to this country, but totally disregard or give a faint nod to all the other disasters that happened before? It just...kinda perplexes me


Lots of people find this review helpful!
poxpower responds:

Well the reason it can't be too elaborate is that it's a time-sensitive issue. If I spend a month on this then it'll be too late to get maximum exposure. So we have to do what we can with the time we have.
As for why make this game now? Well, we have to start somewhere. It's not that we don't care about things like Katrina or Haiti, it's just that we had the idea to do it this time and hopefully it goes well and helps to some extent.

Next time something big happens we might do another game to raise awareness but it often depends on how busy we are and what else is going on. There's something worth bringing attention to every day but we sadly have to pick our battles.


vipershot69vipershot69

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2011

Always loved japan

scince i got involved with anime, ive wanted to go to japan. One of the things ive always wanted to do is see the cherry trees in bloom. I KNOW that Japan will recove, It must, and I cant wait to go see the trees in Bloom.


People find this review helpful!

ZakkeneyoZakkeneyo

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2011

Great

Wish Domo was really there lol. No matter where in the world it is, it's always tragic when a life passes.


People find this review helpful!