Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2011 | 3:58 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 21, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place February 23, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

An isolated man and his dog discover the horrors that lurk in the forests of the frozen north

Reviews


iamtherevieweriamthereviewer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

The best establishment of true tension

and suspense I've seen on newgrounds, with an unfufilling denouement.

Max,
Let me first say this. I absolutely love your writing, animation, and intense character relational development, which characterize all your pieces. This piece was your most impressive by far for a number of reasons,
-You bridged the gap between the silent "Jerry" storytelling technique and the exposition filled, plot driven stories like "the greatest idea ever" and WVGJ4K.
-Your use of sound was impeccable, very well timed. Silence is clearly a tool that you are masterful at handling.
-Animation, flat out, fantastic. I probably don't need to back this up. You've come a long way man. You really have.

Being an inevitable review sandwich. Here are the cons
or rather... con. The Ending. For a number of reasons, it failed to cash the check that your atmosphere and pacing wrote. It's like Roger Egbert's blueballs. I understand the satiric point you're trying to make, but it really seemed to be more a /b/tards snickering facading as art than anything else.
-The fact that the unknown monsters are furries dosen't satisfactorily account for them not being seen at the door.
-The actual, physical, comical presence of the monsters rendered the psychological subplot null and void.
-There is absolutely no motive established, nor any connecting with the news report, which was probably attempted to be a macguffin.

Over all this is better than 99 percent of the trash that makes the front page, and by a good margin. That being said, I feel as if this was almost an unfinished project. I've never given you anything lower than a 8 on any of your works, but this time, I just don't feel quite as satisfied. It's been such a long time since you've put anything out, and I was really hoping for another existential insight via your ingenuity.

7 / 10

Cheers man,
Always a pleasure to witness your work.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

hellohi01hellohi01

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Awsome but.....

I loved that movie it was a tense spooky type movie which was good but i agree with everyone else that the ending was really not good.
would have been better if it turned out to be a masked crazy serial killer, and a sequel that showed what happened.



DroppedAppleDroppedApple

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Shit man,

that thing after the credits made me JUMP.

I also totally didn't expect it to be furries, or for it to end sad. None-the-less, it was animated spectacularly well. It looked really professional. I think the end should have been something different, though. The furries were kind of an anti-climax.

BUT, great work, man. Keep it up! :)



swanndive229swanndive229

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

woah

the animation was great, the voice acting was awesome, the story was great as well but i would have liked it more if it ended differently



cairnthcairnth

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Flipping Fantastic

Bloody amazing. You've just given me the feeling of a horror movie without wasting an hour and a half of my life and without all the nightmares that come after them. Very good! Kudos to thee, sir.