Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 15, 2011 | 10:08 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice February 23, 2011
  • Daily Feature February 17, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Is this a horror or a love story?

I started this in mid October for the NG halloween thing, but once I realized I was going to miss the deadline I started taking my time. This probably took me around 3 months in total as there was definitely an entire month worth of screwing around and playing XBox Live arcade... THAT MONTH WAS WORTH IT THOUGH.
I did all the animation and music and everything, BUT I had awesome help on the voice work from Caxx, which I couldn't have done without:
http://caxx.newgrounds.co m

PRETTY COOL!

Sorry about the filesize, and thanks a bazillion again to Tom for raising my limit, and for the front page and everything else.

OKAY GUYS THANKS

Reviews


RaventailRaventail

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 25, 2011

Hmmm...

So... rape a hot chick and she'll fall in love with you? Is that what I should be getting out out of this?

I'd be disturbed as to what that implies about the author, except I'd say I was looking into the matter way too closely. I'd say that the ending is more or less derived from Japanese anime tropes, much like the rest of the movie. It's derivative, unoriginal - most things that you've seen before. If this hadn't been released as an internet flash, a medium with pretty low standards, this would be pretty unremarkable.

Now, if it was meant as a tribute or an homage to these tropes? Then it was a smashing success and it would miss the point to criticize lack of originality. I'm assuming that this is the case.

Art is excellent and animation is good, if a little unnatural. Again, my criticism is mainly that it's pretty unoriginal, but again, I'm sure the author could be more creative if that had been his focus.


People find this review helpful!
redminus responds:

pfff


Shawn45Shawn45

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 17, 2011

It was decent.

I liked the art style, but the animation was a little weird at times, specifically when she was running through the woods. However, I loved the lip movement at times how it followed every word, very nice work there.

As for the plot, I knew immediately when he said all of that stuff about that monster that he would inevitably be the monster. Also, the talking at the beginning felt really awkward, though we don't know if it was their first date, so that could be the explanation. Lastly, the ending montage was hilarious, I thought you'd devolve into tentacle rape images, but you took it where I wasn't expecting and as a result made it a lot better.

Keep up the great work.


People find this review helpful!

HieliaHielia

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 20, 2011

It was awesome apart from the sound delay >_>

Yea this was awesome to watch and mostly the last part of it but a shame it was that the sound had a delay for me for like 2 seconds -_-



NovaJazz26NovaJazz26

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 1, 2011

VERY good backgrounds and scenery...

...but wooden animation for the characters.

Don't get me wrong, it's a VERY nicely animated movie (the animations of the bus and the scenery moving past in particular, and not to mention that dynamic lighting and camera angles!) but I felt that the high quality of those parts ended up outlining the weak character animations. Realistic backgrounds/environments usually tend to clash hard with simplified characters.

For me as a viewer, it's bothersome when I see characters opening their mouths but the jaw (and all the other muscles attached on the face) don't move with them. The facial features, while certainly staying consistent with their placement, don't quite move naturally in response to the facial muscles that would be pulling on them (eye-scrunching, cheeks raising/dropping during smiles, etc.).

Additionally, it would also help to vary the character poses every few seconds or so, especially while standing. The arm movements were a nice touch, but people typically (though there are certainly exceptions) don't maintain a solid back/torso/leg posture in excess of a minute without worrying about cramps, and certainly not while trying to tell a "scary story." I think it would have helped both of the characters to have moved around a lot more during that part.

The running animations could've used a little work, but I'll assume the month of Xbox live arcade probably had something to do with it. :P

Those are my only complaints. Otherwise, nice animation! I'd love to see what your animations will look like a couple of years from now!


People find this review helpful!
redminus responds:

Cool story bro


iVagueiVague

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 23, 2011

Odd...

This movie was pretty funny and well done, don't get me wrong. It just sort of seems like most of the character poses and movements were taken from stock animes of some sort. That said, even if that's the case, the transition from theirs to yours is really well done.