Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 12, 2011 | 9:28 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice February 16, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place February 13, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I wrote this game while travelling in Europe and Central America, and created everything but the music myself. It's not your usual point and shoot zombie game; Rebuild is a thoughtful, wordy game that takes real strategy to win. You need to balance acquiring food, expanding your base, killing zombies and keeping your people happy. Gamers should start on Hard difficulty and expect to lose their first game (it's more fun that way).

Reviews


fuzzynutzfuzzynutz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

goodness

greetings i love the game just next time make it less impossible to beat to many zombies not enough defense very addictive!!!!!



reesiecup08reesiecup08

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Good job!

The game was hard, but that's what made playing it worth it!



Tbone838Tbone838

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Great game

Couldn't stop playing until I beat it! Very creative concept!



D4V3M4ND4V3M4N

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Very Cool

I don't really play that many Flash games anymore, but I've been playing this all afternoon and the only reason I'm stopping is to do homework!

First thing I have to say is that the visuals could be improved a fair amount. The town looks really nice, but it would definitely help improve the game to vary the fight scenes and make them look better. That being said, I like the art of the buildings and stuff.

A second suggestion would be to identify a difference between Safe-ish and "Clear".
Another suggestion is to vary the reports scouts bring back.
My last suggestion is to have different icons for male and female survivors, because it's a bit unsettling to see a manly character icon named Mary.

All that being said, this was one of the most fun computer games I've played in years and I would be truly disappointed if a sequel is not in the future.


People find this review helpful!

NikalNikal

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 21, 2011

Simply unbeliveable!

Consider that I rarely give this high a score unless something really deserves it. This is probably one of the best strategy games I've played here on Newgrounds, AND it's actually a very unique combination still unseen in the gaming world (at least I think so). You should definitely consider separating it from Flash and make a full fledged indie some day! Hell, if open-source I'd definitely join in on the project. Whichever the case, I shall be looking forward to the sequel. :^)

Okay, now how about some creative criticism, hm?
I would've rated it a 10 for originality and such, but there are a couple of things that could use some polishing in the current version. And I wouldn't want to just go around giving away highest scores every time something amazes me - would be meaningless and not helpful at all.
Anyway: the interface. This is probably the #1 reason I lowered the score. Yes, it's playable, but I just feel there was so much more that could've been done about it. It just doesn't display enough information as it needs to and, without a good sorting system, relays too much on sub-menus to do so. Finding out who's doing what and where is much slower this way (e.g. it was much easier to just press a guarding station to find out who's guarding and who's doing something else then rely on the survivors listing). In controversy to that, the view itself feels sort of cumbersome and obstructed by the menu bar. Because of this (and perhaps a lack of a mini-map) moving from one side of the map to another can be a bother sometimes.
Other then the interface (as many noted below) balance is another problem. No matter which difficulty one chooses, if you start right the rest is smooth sailing. The zombies either rush you or get rushed depending on the map layout. After beating in once you already know how to do it again simply by repeating the "careful expansion" tactic. I'm not saying the game should be made impossible, but enemy strengthening should follow the players growth. Although adding more variety to the opponent's strategy might be a better solution, and more fun. :^)
Speaking of which, my last comment would be against the repetitiveness. Like I said: if the player survives the beginning there are only a couple of tactics reused over and over again. This probably derives from limited amount of variety mentioned earlier. Be sure to expand the units and construction lists, as well as the research and random events (which are, by far, my favorite part of the game; the nicks are just priceless! Again, shame it becomes too repetitive later on...)

I suppose that about sums it up. Hop I at least pointed out something useful. There are surely many other things that can be further tweaked, improved art and such, but nothing too significant at this moment. The game has a lot of potential. I can't wait to see what will come out of this! (:^D


People find this review helpful!