Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2011 | 7:58 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place February 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

High Tea is a strategic plate-spinning game, you play an independent British smuggler selling opium in China's Pearl Delta.

Buy cheap and sell high to make a profit, but make sure you also obtain enough tea to keep Britain happy. You have ten years before the opium wars begin - can you make your fortune?

Based on historical events, this game also shines a light on a questionable episode in the history of the British Empire.

Reviews


jennydijennydi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

Awesome

I thought it was great...I always love historically accurate games!


People find this review helpful!

lejdcoollejdcool

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 12, 2011

ridiculously hard

I must have played this over 10 times now, its as addictive the opium you sell, but I just can't win



RaenilRaenil

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 9, 2011

Other People Are Wimps

This game didn't seem like it was going to really be fun at first, but then before I knew it I was sucked into it with the constant watching of all the numbers everywhere. Opium under 40? Buy buy buy. People want it for over 60? Sell sell sell. Tea was hard.. I just tried to buy when it was under 40 and the market crashed or whatever.
I will say that all the people who say "game over at 210 chests of tea" obviously suck at this game, because as long as you are even /slightly/ aggressive with your tactics you've either gotten that much before the clipper comes or it's easy to buy it up once it's in your port. I personally beat the entire game in one sitting, my /first/ sitting. The only reason this game gets a 9 instead of a 10 is simple - With the Brit's insane demands for flavored water, I didn't make a profit at all at the end of the game. I had to waste so much money with the final tea demand - almost 700 chests! - that I ended the game with just under 3000 silver.

Other than that, all I have to say is that "risky" ports were often anything but - I was only accosted twice during the meat of the game and then a couple more times in the end during my mad tea dash and I was just selling off all my opium at any price. The random events featuring historical figures are okay, but they don't really have an effect on the gameplay.

I know there's not much room here for a sequel, but if you end up making another game in this style, i'd have to say include more random events of varying consequences, allow the option to purchase more smuggling vessels instead of being awarded them, and maybe some bonuses or skill trees - like, for example, be on time for three or four tea shipments in a row and Britain will start to cut you some slack, you know?

Anyway, fun, engrossing game, hope to see some more quality products from you.


People find this review helpful!

bothmyballsbothmyballs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

good game

only wish it was longer like a free play mode


People find this review helpful!

Food123Food123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

awesome

This flash Game is really awesome. Selling stuff to customers was kind of good. i can't wait to see more