Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2011 | 7:58 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place February 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


  • Axon
    Axon by WellcomeCollection
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 1,208,324 Views
  • 1066
    1066 by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 917,664 Views
  • TheEnd
    TheEnd by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 237,225 Views
  • Trafalgar Origins
    Trafalgar Origins by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 118,809 Views
  • Futurecade
    Futurecade by ScienceMuseum
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 25,728 Views
  • Rebuild 2
    Rebuild 2 by sarahnorthway
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 1,055,846 Views

Author Comments

High Tea is a strategic plate-spinning game, you play an independent British smuggler selling opium in China's Pearl Delta.

Buy cheap and sell high to make a profit, but make sure you also obtain enough tea to keep Britain happy. You have ten years before the opium wars begin - can you make your fortune?

Based on historical events, this game also shines a light on a questionable episode in the history of the British Empire.

Reviews


GeoPopaGeoPopa

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 14, 2011

Awesome game

I think you really did a very good job with this game.
It seems that the obvious strategy is buy low sell high, but still

??? -> PROFIT

In the end I've reached a score of 36M and was only 5 crates away from the final order.

Nevertheless, great game.


People find this review helpful!

kingssmankingssman

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 14, 2011

Finally Something Original

WOW its been awhile since i've seen an original genre at NG,
This is like Econ101 all simplified into a game (with lil world history as well)
Love the market, the buy low, sell high, make profit, convert profit to goods, complete order, start again. As well as navigating the fluctuations, risk vs reward, predicting the market, ect ect.

The bit of history stuff is like 'heh, wel damn, i jest LeRnd sumtin' " so i kinda feel smarter already after playing your game.

It may be asking much, but please make a sequel stand alone game? Not based off of history or nothin but keep the concept and let us roll with it?


People find this review helpful!

supersatan3supersatan3

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 14, 2011

Great fun!

At first glance, this game appears to be simple, but requires a somewhat complex strategy. Therefore, making it the perfect flash game My only complaint is that in the late game, it gets rather annoying only being allowed to buy 30 crates of tea or Opium at a time. The gameplay mechanics can most likely be applied to a number of historical scenarios(E.G. trading rum for slaves).
Anyway, here is the strategy I used:
1.) buy low, sell high, this one is obvious
2.) but always keep at least a few crates of opium in reserve, you never know when a big order will pop up.
3.) If you have 3 or more boats, don't worry about losing one to the Chinese, especially if you have a bribe card.
4.) Keep an eye on your deadlines, and of course the constantly fluctuating prices.
5.) Always keep a little cash in reserve, you never know when the tea or opium market will bottom out.
6.) But not too much cash, there is no point in saving money. if you have 8,000+, spend some of it on tea, regardless of current price.


People find this review helpful!

horsenwelleshorsenwelles

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2011

i honestly like it

great risk vs reward type of game! i got about 2.5 mil as a final score, so i think i did reasonably good.

great time waster, and wonderful presentation :D


People find this review helpful!

MrKamelMrKamel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2011

SHIT!!!

damn man this game is tooo hard oh and i gave it a 9 becouse the graphics r soooooo goood (this is a 5) and the 4 is for the idea of the game with china and (STUFF) :P

BTW pre dude make more strategey games cuz ur games ((((ROCK))))S


People find this review helpful!