Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2011 | 7:58 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place February 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


  • Axon
    Axon by WellcomeCollection
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 1,213,352 Views
  • 1066
    1066 by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 918,509 Views
  • Trafalgar Origins
    Trafalgar Origins by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 118,974 Views
  • TheEnd
    TheEnd by preloadedlondon
    • Game
    • Rated T
    • 237,357 Views
  • Futurecade
    Futurecade by ScienceMuseum
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 25,855 Views
  • DotBox
    DotBox by Gametion
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 3,966 Views

Author Comments

High Tea is a strategic plate-spinning game, you play an independent British smuggler selling opium in China's Pearl Delta.

Buy cheap and sell high to make a profit, but make sure you also obtain enough tea to keep Britain happy. You have ten years before the opium wars begin - can you make your fortune?

Based on historical events, this game also shines a light on a questionable episode in the history of the British Empire.

Reviews


SinteZoSSinteZoS

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 17, 2011

Liked it

Very nice game . I dont like strategy game but this this is cool,



I-LanI-Lan

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 17, 2011

'sell ship'

in my opinion the only flaw in the game is, there is no 'sell ship' button.


People find this review helpful!

ZZZzzzapZZZzzzap

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 17, 2011

Addictive, like a good game should be!

Great graffix and sound effects. Smooth gameplay. Well done!
Only thing I think is frustrating is that after all that hard work, the tea-clipper
comes along and takes all my hard-earned tea back to Blighty and all they give
me in return is bloody ship... Maybe the game would work better if the object off the game was to accumulate wealth and rate your score accordingly.

Tips for beginners:
- Keep an eye on your Opium stocks, if theyre running low you might end up buying at a higher price then you will be able to sell it for.
- If Opium prices drop to around $7 a Crate don't wait for a perfect order, but take any offer that comes along and make your money selling in bulk. Just be carefull for calling at risky ports.
- To make that final Tea-shipment you'll be hitting that "Buy 30 crates of Tea" button almost continuesly. Even if this means buying at high prices. The object of the game is to ship that tea, not end up with loads of money. Even though this kinda ticked me off.


People find this review helpful!

RenegadeVRenegadeV

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

Luck?

I think luck plays a huge factor in this game because sometimes when I start a new game the price of opium stays around $40 but the ports only buy for about $50 for the whole round. When I finally raise enough money to get tea, I can't buy it fast enough to load the ship. I have made it to the final round and in one game the opium and tea prices both dropped to $8 twice. The randomness makes the game interesting but sometimes you get really screwed. Beautiful graffix and tight game play. Overall I'm happy.

P.S.
Did you ever play Drug Wars? This game seriously reminds me of that. I wish you would remake Drug Wars with this degree of quality. That would be a thing of beauty.



lxortlxort

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

Good Game

You have to be very alert to price fluctuations