Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2011 | 7:58 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place February 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

High Tea is a strategic plate-spinning game, you play an independent British smuggler selling opium in China's Pearl Delta.

Buy cheap and sell high to make a profit, but make sure you also obtain enough tea to keep Britain happy. You have ten years before the opium wars begin - can you make your fortune?

Based on historical events, this game also shines a light on a questionable episode in the history of the British Empire.

Reviews


BatheBathe

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

Wildly entertaining

This was an interesting, educational, and all around fun game to play. I loved playing close to the chest as the game went on, having to make bets that I wouldnt get busted just to feed the British Thirst. The only thing is that I think you should be able to sell a ship at anytime rather than when you just run out of money. It would have helped me cinch the end in one try rather than 3.

Final winning stats: 128,357,760 Points for final score (retiring wealthy), 696 Billion cups of Tea delivered to the Empire, and 369 Million Chinese lives destroyed. What a terrible period in history. Surprising how it makes such a fun game.


People find this review helpful!

dedodedodedododedodedodedodo

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

And finally...

after shipping 432 billion cups of tea, and ruining 175 million Chinese lives, I finally get to retire a rich man. Great game reflecting the true nature of colonialism - it simply amounts to exploitation. Good work!


People find this review helpful!

hardcoreraverhardcoreraver

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

uuin

win

not enough teaa D:

looll 216 billion cups of tea
and lolol 113 chineez opium users
gg~



DianusDianus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

At last ...

A game that appeals to me as a Britain. Now I can imagine the glory days of the Opium Wars from the comfort of my living room. Thanks PreloadedLondon.

But seriously, it was very well put together in terms of graphics and replay value. Excellent job.



jcorrojcorro

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

I'm guessing this was pretty hard make

But it ends up nicely, the game adjusts to your every move