Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2011 | 7:58 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place February 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

High Tea is a strategic plate-spinning game, you play an independent British smuggler selling opium in China's Pearl Delta.

Buy cheap and sell high to make a profit, but make sure you also obtain enough tea to keep Britain happy. You have ten years before the opium wars begin - can you make your fortune?

Based on historical events, this game also shines a light on a questionable episode in the history of the British Empire.

Reviews


MrAzEMrAzE

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

opium... mmm

I must say that the game is highly "addictive" :) It's also rather short, but the historical references both in the intro and after completing it make up for that. When you play it for the first time it's rather confusing to follow all the prices and making mistakes is so easy when you are in a hurry to get the tea.

A few things though, Some times it takes only buying opium or tea only once for the prices to hit 99 and on other occasions I noticed that although the price should be dropping as stayed by the system message, it reaches 99 instead and then drops.
But overall really good game with nice music and terrific atmosphere.


People find this review helpful!

commoguycommoguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

Great Game!

The mood was really compelled me to get into it. I think that it's captured just right. Perfect mix of exotic and seedy.



XEclipseMoonXXEclipseMoonX

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

Woo!

Awesome! Rank - A Wealthy Retirement Awaits you.
Finished the game with over 20K silver coins and over 200 opium. Victory!
Only sold to those with 70+ per chest.
Only bought and sold opium and tea when it was under 50.
Luck carried me all the way =D
awesome game! It might just be that win but that win was awesome!



6Lord6Chaos66Lord6Chaos6

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

sweet

yeah i'm a master smuggler acording to the game !

Great game mate !
good graphics and gameplay what else can i say yeah !



cybermonkey81cybermonkey81

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2011

Addicting, mmm...

First off, I like tea. Also, I see what you did thar. Now on to the serious business.

Very nice graphics, and splendid price system, I like it how it reacts when I start a purchasing panic. My only rant is that it is a little too short. I would like an endless mode.

Reminds me of Taipan. If you could you remake Taipan, but in your style, that would be awesome.

Tell me, were you inspired by taipan in any way? Just curious.


People find this review helpful!