Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


1337ERROR1337ERROR

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

The boy represents Jesus and The People

The bird represents Evil of society and Democrats.

Brought you by your Grade 9 english teacher who found symbolism in shit that didn't need it. God dam sarcasm.

Anyways good flash and story, great job becuase of time crunch one thing. I swear the boy looks like a girl. Might want to differentiate more than one wears a dres. Just minor detail.


People find this review helpful!

CrackerJack30CrackerJack30

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

mystic...

I guess such a movie isn't everybody's taste, but I love the mystic, poetic undertone of the entire flash. It's like Edgar A. Poe had inspired you to create this!

The only reason I don't give you 10 stars is the end. I just read the comment from InLucidReverie, and if you would have used the end he talks about, this final twist, I would give it 10 stars!

Anyways, this still should be at least in the Top 5 of the day. The entire artwork is great, characters are interesting and the sounds fit just perfect, they send chills through my spine. My respect for all three artists, if you collab again, please let me know.


People find this review helpful!

kitsukeikitsukei

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

good!

great piece of animation considering the time given. just confused about what happened in the end.


People find this review helpful!
funkycaveman responds:

Thank you very much for the review. We left the ending for your own interpretation, but while the rest of the animation took so long, there was little time to finish the ending the way we would have liked in the given time frame.
The ending has been changed slightly. Should be easier to understand now.


xXPeasInaCanXxxXPeasInaCanXx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

Nice!

I rlly liked it.... reminded me a bit about The Shawshank Redemtion with the crow and what not :P


People find this review helpful!

TeschkeTeschke

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2013

It is all fun and games until the duck tape haves to come off.