Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


UltimatezpiderUltimatezpider

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 5, 2012

animation is slow other than that its good.



MizzjuicyflavaMizzjuicyflava

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

Nice!

you guys do soo well on this. And in 48 hrs? movie was nice and th music was good too


People find this review helpful!
funkycaveman responds:

Less than 48 hours! We are pleased that you enjoyed the animation. Thank you for the review.


jasdude9jasdude9

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

QUESTION!!?

It was really good...but... can someone please tell me what happened at the end?


funkycaveman responds:

Updated the description with an explanation.


KirbyGirlKirbyGirl

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 25, 2011

Nice flash

Beautiful flash. Pretty good considering how fast you had to make it. Even though this isn't the meaning, the flash kind of reminded me of a bad friendship. A friendship that starts off good but, eventually ends horribly.



OrmagonOrmagon

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

emmmm

ill rate it ten because it was not bad and its made me go wtf at the end and i like that stuff but here is what i think happened the scout was a reject in the real world upon stumbling on the injured bird and helping it cause thats what nerds do it befriended him awaiting the day were the scout could finally witness y the animal kingdom despises humanity and at that time eated his brains lolxors pl0x do shed some light were im wrong thx k bye