Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


obfuscatemanobfuscateman

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars February 3, 2011

urmrrmr

it was good for just 48 hours but didn't make a lot sense to me at least, but i did get that because the bird killed the dumb hippie kid he went and got a tattoo of an tear drops so no other birds would fuck with him, nice.



ZAPPO123ZAPPO123

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

honastly

for 48 hours that was really good it would take me like 5 days i suck


People find this review helpful!

animationGODanimationGOD

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

Very good

The story was a bit complex twords the end but I think i understand what is going on based on your description. The art was pretty well done and the animation was smooth. I think at one part there was narration of the text on the screen but I could barely here it (compared to the volume of the rest of the movie). Besides that it was a pretty cool movie with a sinister ending.
I'd say this is the best of the NG movie jam since it had a good story and no uneccary beastiality. Good Work!


People find this review helpful!
funkycaveman responds:

we decided to remove the inaudible voices, but if it was included correctly it could have been a nice addition. Thanks for your review!


Red-hot-willy-pepperRed-hot-willy-pepper

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

erm wtf?

animation and music was good, but what happened?
it was all going well, then suddenly the forest is on fire, the guy goes into the cave, takes the cast off and the bird has a fucked up wing, then the guy somehow dies??
i didnt really understand what was going on?



OrmagonOrmagon

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

emmmm

ill rate it ten because it was not bad and its made me go wtf at the end and i like that stuff but here is what i think happened the scout was a reject in the real world upon stumbling on the injured bird and helping it cause thats what nerds do it befriended him awaiting the day were the scout could finally witness y the animal kingdom despises humanity and at that time eated his brains lolxors pl0x do shed some light were im wrong thx k bye