Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


HatGuyHatGuy

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

Interesting

It had really good sound, drawing and story (except the ending) but the animation had a really tweeny look, which isn't good.


People find this review helpful!

JezzaFromAUSJezzaFromAUS

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

Nice

Not a fan of these sorts of deep-minded strange short stories but it was pretty good, I liked it, nice story and animation.



SporkyTheSporkSporkyTheSpork

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

How did the boy turn into a hand?

It was alright but some elaboration on the ending would have been nice


People find this review helpful!

darej3darej3

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

damn...

verry good, but I don't understand, what happened in the end....:S



umbrelladudeumbrelladude

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 4, 2011

why the tears?

hey i liked the flash and i didnt think the story had any flaws..except!
except why did the crow had tears in his eyes at the end..was he sad he had to kill him or was he just sad he couldnt have had more fun with the boy before killing him?
Love it anyways =)


People find this review helpful!