Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


MastermadnessMastermadness

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

wait...what?!

I didn't get the end did the bird turn into a zombie O_o?
why didn't the wing heals after all those years?
why didn't the second kid in the beginning go looking for him?
was the kid a boy or girl with that long-ass hair?!?!



kaylitsakaylitsa

Rated 1 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

Eh..

It was boring, you need to make it more fast paced. The animation was ok at best, i noticed you never wanted to make him turn his head, only moved his eye. You took allot of shortcuts using loops for his walking then put pictures of scenes to aviode animating. I know it takes allot of time to animate well, but if you want high votes and a good video it is needed.



PottePotte

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

random

why did nobody sleep in the tent instead sleeping in the rain??

good graphic and all that and now everybody gonna press
useless on my comment :P


People find this review helpful!

TheInfantChomperTheInfantChomper

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

it was k

i guess you had a hard story to create, but it still seems slow and quite boring(most of the video was that scene of the bird and the boy walking...), i think most people would have no idea at all about what was happening without the description


People find this review helpful!

ThePistolizerThePistolizer

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

Wow...

Simple yet... deep.. I like deep stories. The animation is fine but the story made me think... I like it. I had to watch it again to get the story straight. (w/o reading the description though..) =)