Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


sxe-enforcersxe-enforcer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 28, 2011

Interesting idea

There's only so much you can do in a point and click game and you've managed to do them all. Good pacing, simple enough, fitting music and handy hints. As someone who didn't know most of the paintings it can get a little frustrating. 9/10 because there were a few pics that came out pixelated and you couldn't see the details needed to solve the riddles. Other then that, you can see that you put a lot of time and effort into the game ... congrats on the game and I look forward to any more you do



CatoramaCatorama

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2012

This game makes my arm tire as hell! This game is pure awesome with the art and music and medals of pure tiredness ( I can't feel my hand) and I hope you make a second one of this masterpiece!!!

P.S. Second place of this year!!!



BhaktaLaliBhaktaLali

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 27, 2011

Creative!

Creative, challenging riddles and different than anything else I've seen. I'm quite impressed.



HalKoopaHalKoopa

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

Amazing.

The game itself was fun, but reading about the facts of the paintings and what they were about was the best part. The music gives you a calming sense as well. I loved it and will probably play this game many more times.


People find this review helpful!

socks85socks85

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 29, 2011

Enlightening!

I've seen a few of these paintings before (what's the Mona Lisa?), but this game showed me more really beautiful paintings. I only had problems with the size of the paintings since the more detailed ones required a bit more squinting to find the solution. Otherwise, the gallery featured was extremely cool. I never knew pretty much all of the information there. I look forward to another painting-themed game!


People find this review helpful!