Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


cobrahawk5cobrahawk5

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2011

great game

you should definatly make a sequel



blueprinceblueprince

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 22, 2011

Fantastic!

I couldnt understand how did this game get lower than 4. not only historically accurate but also very mesmerizing and inteligent. me, as an assassin creed's fan really enjoyed it and to tell the truth I'm a big admirer of Michelangelo and Raphael. hope you could make more game like this one.


People find this review helpful!

DefconMDefconM

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 5, 2011

Very enchanting But...

I unlocked all the paintings, but I didn't get the trophy...


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

I'm working on that bug. Thanks for understanding.


TheManofSteal13TheManofSteal13

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Excellent

I happen to be an art major, so for me playing a game like this is most beneficial even to those with art history classes. Some of my favorite paintings are in here too.

I've got to ask, the song that's played when the first painting appears past the difficulty setting, what was it called?
Thanks.


mrty responds:

I didn't list the first song because I think it's removed. Anyway, the song is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy, as also listed in the credits.


NonexistingNonexisting

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2011

Entertaining !

Pretty good, I liked it. The challenge wasn't so easy, and everyone could make it to the end with a bit of motivation. The music was changing and very likeable as it fitted the art, I liked that. The riddles were interesting and funny for some of them, good job. Although I'm rating it a 9, because the 3 levels of difficulty had the same paintings in the same order, and I think it would have been nice to put some more.

But guys, what the hell is with the highest scores ??


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

I'll remove the scoreboard soon. There are too many hackers that manage to outsmart me, and people just don't know how to appreciate such a feature.