Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


JabenaurumJabenaurum

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2011

Superb..

Will there be a sequel?



KuroponMelKuroponMel

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

impossible 300

Es casi imposible sacar los 300 puntos... es un muy buen juego!!


mrty responds:

Please speak English so that I don't have to use Google translator to figure out what you're trying to say. Not to mention, I might not always figure out what language you're speaking, to begin with.

No, it's not impossible. Remember that on harder difficulties, your time deducts your score. The only way to get 300 points is to play on the easiest difficulty and without any mistakes or hints.

Thank you for the review.


jonathanfisjonathanfis

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2011

Please a Second..

Really i Fucking loved this game. This is a game that you have to Really think and by that i mean Really REALLY Think.

5/5
10/10 Stars



th3gamerguyth3gamerguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2011

cool and hard

Very fun, but i can't get passed 26 lol 10/10 5/5.


mrty responds:

You can find a walkthrough on this website, but I suggest you think twice before searching for one. I sincerely believe walkthroughs should only be used when the player is REALLY stuck.


B-L-A-Z-EB-L-A-Z-E

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 9, 2011

Well, this is something

I like it, it's really good overall, but I don't really like some of the riddles. They're too easy and can hardly be called riddles. Some of them are, but others are just descriptions of the object it is referring to. I mean, you could improve the riddles somewhat, and also make the gameplay a little more interesting, and then you could have this one.


mrty responds:

I did realize after a while that I had a skewed definition of riddles. I completely understand people who say that the game is mostly a "find this" game. But remember that the main purpose of the game is to make the player think, and if I have succeeded that, I have succeeded indeed. Not to mention, I hope that via this game, I'll make people appreciate art more.

Thanks for the review.