Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


KnightsKnights

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Wow, this is a really good game.

Right now, I'm taking an Art History class and this game is really helping me with the subject; I'm sure I'll be ahead of the curve!

Do you think you'll do more riddles but with different eras such as Classical and Romantic?


mrty responds:

I'm thinking of sequels, yes. I think the next one will be Baroque. But I won't get to work on a sequel anytime soon...

Thanks for the review.


ArtixKriegerArtixKrieger

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Nice, BUT...

It may just be me, it was an awesome game, addicting. But why do you have to have exactly the right pixel, practically? Seems a bit much is all.


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

I do agree that you have to be precise in a few riddles, but it really shouldn't be a problem. Thanks for the review.


aleix33aleix33

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

medals

some of them dont work:
achieve a perfect score
art historian
adicted

good game


mrty responds:

They do work, for other people. So, they're supposed to work...


SulfaronSulfaron

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

The difference from other games!

This is a really cool game! Learning and playing. Maybe I constrance my kid to play this game.
Other things. I found a bug:
I can only get 56 paintings. I tried a few things and i found out that I can only get the last two pics when I have all other 56 paintings before. I can see the dragon and the anatomy, but there is still 56/58.
I got all archievments with the exception of the first one with the egg. I donĀ“t get it.
5/5 and 10/10
Greetings



pratollipratolli

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

An epic win situation.

The games that join education and interactivity aren't rare, but it's rare to see an education game that's actually funny.

The game shows off the most important the portraits of the renaissance, and joins it with riddles, that aren't so easy.

I loved this game, and made me remeber one the good side of my country, the Italy, the magnificent art. I'm really sad when I think that Italy's crappy government will make it go in ruin, like the many monuments and Pompei.

As you can see I'm not proud of Italy, but you made me see the light in the darkness.

Thanks.

PS: sorry for bad grammar..


People find this review helpful!