Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Fairly hard

It would be kind of inconsiderate of me to just go out and tell all of the answers to the ones I got. I will say that I was lucky enough to get a secret medal on my first try! At first, I thought this was going to be something where I had to type in the answers. It was a little hard to tell at first, but that hand icon did make it easy to understand. If nothing else, it was great to see all of these authentic replications of art pieces. Looking at paintings has always been a pastime of mine, especially considering that few modern people seem to make paintings.

I managed to get all of them without any hints until finding one that did not give me a hint. The music/sounds were really good and it was great how clicking the wrong thing wasn't such a big penalty. It was also great to include the names and years of each painting. I am not sure if these painters intended them to have meanings, but whatever. While it did not have much action, definitley a classy game.


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

Well, it didn't mean to have action.

Thanks for the detailed review, glad you liked it.


ScottalianMan27ScottalianMan27

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

good game

i like these kind of games plus i remember alot of this from english class lol but the art historian medal is bugged i did what you said bout going to the gallery and then checking your progress and i had all 58/58 and still hasnt popped up


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

Are you sure you were logged in when you were trying that? If not, I don't know what the problem is... Other people are getting it, so I don't see why you can't. I'll look into it.

Thanks for the review.


DynamitethedrummerDynamitethedrummer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Nice game and good ispiration

Lovely game adapted cultural arts history, only 1 complain at all, beware of the graphix!!!! One should be able to zoom into the image because it's really stretched, so sometimes the resolution is really bad. Firefox's users can counter with ctrl +


mrty responds:

I'm thinking of a zooming feature in the sequels, but not until then. Thanks for the review.


danirosdaniros

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

gooood

good good
remainds me to assins creed 2
the only bad thing (only by itself take out of you 2 stars)is the fucking beeeps that sounds when you fail



SHindSHind

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

Tiny problems.

Getting Master on the first try was easy enough; however, there were a few tiny problems. Clicking on the EXACT pixel on Brugel's Landscape with the Fall of Icarus is annoying as hell. Also, Paolo Veronese was a Mannerist painter directly after the Renaissance. Finally, the two bonus Leonardo drawings were the both the some of the less impressive drawings of his, and the gallery didn't need more Leonardo. Your chronology was also a little fussy, and your exemption of Renaissance sculpture was really disheartening.

However, this was a fun little quiz to refresh me on my (admittedly rusty) knowledge of the mid-to-late Renaissance, and it's nice to see something resembling culture on this site.


People find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

- I'll work on that pixel problem, since you are the second person to complain about it.
- Thanks for the heads-up about Veronese. But I don't think that a few out-of-period paintings should be a problem.
- I agree that the one with the neck is far from interesting, but I thought that the flying machine drawing would be. It was, after all, one of the first attempts at flying.
- I didn't work on any chronological order. The riddles are ordered randomly.
- I did think of sculpture at first, but after browsing through some sculpture examples, I decided that you couldn't really make up any riddles with them. Although, if you have some recommendations, I'd appreciate you sharing them with me.
- And finally, thanks for the review.