Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2010 | 11:01 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update 4/13/2013 : Flash Retooled with more Newgrounds music and less original content. same flash, different music.
I shold have done this sooner...
Also, Ryu's Scene near the end was altered. Originally, the joke was about having him sing "Pop Star" by Ken Hirai, but due to copyright issues I had to replace it with Guile's theme. Thankfully it goes with everything! :D

I'm back and with a treat for you all. SFII The Satire Edition. This was something that i've been wanting to do ever since the SF collab was announced.

It all started earlier this year when I decided to play through various ports and upgrades of the game and I slowly developed several ideas in the process. I even decided to read up on each character's bio just to understand their backstories a bit better. I started writing the script, got several VAs and got some additional help from other authors. overall it was a 4 month process.I even decided to add a few cameos from SF4 in it because in a parody, anything can happen.

The character based humor was somewhat inspired by Brawl Taunts. The humor ranges from childish to campy to crude to somewhat offensive, depending on your sense of humor. Even though I made 4 MK Mishaps flashes in the past, I'll admit that this project was challenging for me since this SF lacks the "Gory comedy" that Mortal Kombat was known for

Thanks to everyone who helped out. I can't add the whole cast to the author Credits section, but you guys have all been credited for your work in the flash anyway.

Enjoy and Happy New Year!

Reviews


LazydaemonLazydaemon

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2011

It is a strange world we live in.

Maybe it's because I never really got too deeply into Street Fighter, but I was unaware if there was actually a plot beyond "Hey, we have this tournament to determine the strongest fighter in the world! Come and see!", but what the hey. It's alot of funny shits and giggles which any SF fan could appreciate since YOU'RE NOT SUPPOSE TO TAKE ANY OF IT SERIOUSLY.

*Engulfs noremac8 in Yoga Flames*

Oh, come on! The indignation of the fan spouted when there was a disclaimer up front and everything? Fail and fail! That is an unfairness to all, and by all I mean all of these folks that worked on this flash. If you're going to be THAT rude, I demand a discourse on the subject and not some tiny comment. To everyone else, laugh it up 'cause it's funny.



SpriteEnixSpriteEnix

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 4, 2011

Okay to watch for a minute or two

I think the entire flash sort of suffered from less than great delivery. Some of the skits suffered from dialogues that started off funny, but then the punchline got dragged through the dirt because it just kept going and going, and when it ended, it left the viewer wondering what was the purpose of the skit again. It was a good flash, but it could have used some fine tuning in the end. Good job.



shadowsingrayshadowsingray

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 4, 2011

Nice!

4/9 Great Pixels stayed on form. Some parts made me laugh some parts made me groan, but over all HELL YEAH!


People find this review helpful!

DaDoc540DaDoc540

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2011

Excellent group effort, all!

The jokes mostly stayed within the scope of the game while adding a few outside influences as well.

Now a comment on each mini-flash:

**SPOILERS AHEAD** Only read after watching.

Characters with different names in different regions have Japanese names first, International names second, and any alternative names last.

1) In the Original Street Fighter II, the lack of character versus play meant the only mirror match was between head swaps Ryu and Ken Masters. By the time Championship Edition was out and versus play established, both Ryu and Ken started to differ: two of Ryu's special moves, Shoryuken and Tatsumaki Sempuu Kyaku, knocked down on one hit, while Ken was better able to string hits.
2) Fei Long was the first major video game character to fight and look like the legendary Bruce Lee. However, if any film, such as a Hong Kong martial arts film, is dubbed poorly, then the dubbing speech differs in length from the original speech.
3) Only the second 360ยบ grappler in Street Fighter history, Thunder Hawk would inspire other Mexican wrestlers, most notably Luchadors like Tekken's King.
4) If you want to master fighting games, especially the Street Fighter series, know which attacks have higher priority. Edmund Honda might as well headbutt or grapple his opponent there.
5) Who else caught the reference to the live action Street Fighter film? There is no Carlos Blanka!
6) Perhaps Dee Jay should combine kickboxing with Jamaican rum instead and call it drunken kickboxing.
7) It's a small world, is it not? Julia/Jane, wife of Guile, and Eliza, Ken's girlfriend turned wife, are sisters. Nash/Charlie once held the Pan-American championship before Ken defeated him for it.
8) Cartoon humor. Sagat's Tiger Shots, Tiger Uppercut, and his long limbs make him a formidable opponent. He was very difficult in the original Street Fighter as the final boss as well.
9) Before Chun Li, no females fought in fighting games, and Samus Aran was the only significant female video game protagonist. SNK would counter with Shiranuhi Mai (featured in Yeah! VG Style) and her sex appeal. Capcom then added Cammy and provided a risque Kikouken animation.
10) Blanka and Balrog/Vega/Claw are two major SF characters who have no speech beyond yells and grunts (save for when Balrog/Vega/Claw is rapping to "Spittin' Narcissism"). These two are also on opposite ends of physical appearance.
11) Rufus must be offended; he considers himself to be America's champion only to be beaten by a blond-dyed Californian hippie. Rufus and Guile were each made to appeal to Americans.
12) When SF was bound for the U.S., Capcom worried about a lawsuit from Mike Tyson, who was the obvious inspiration for Mike Bison/Balrog/Boxer. Folks at Capcom of America thought "Vega" (named after a constellation, used for the Dictator) was not an intimidating name for a final boss, so they gave it to the Clawed matador. (Incidently, Vega is also a Spanish name, so it worked out in this respect.) "Balrog" is from Tolkien.
13) In the Super Nintendo version of SSF2, Guile's famous quote was modified to, "Are you bad enough to fight with me?".
14) Zangief remained a supporter for Russia throughout the Soviet Union's final years and its breakup. He even acknowleges Gorbachev as the ex-president by SS2T.
15) Not mentioned in the list of grievences is his kidnapping of twelve girls, including T. Hawk's girlfriend (Noembelu); his corruption of the U.S. military (which is what motivated Nash/Charlie); and his drug cartel.
16) I thought he would say, "I'm going to Disneyland!" This is better and more creative than that. The wandering warrior also has a fledgling fan club.
17) The epitome of a defensive character, Dhalsim was partially inspired by Mohandas Gandhi and his humanitarian ways.


People find this review helpful!

ScorpionReturn5ScorpionReturn5

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2011

Winner Once Again.

You never fail man:-) Never mind what these low scoring douschs say you are the man to Sprite comedy.