Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2010 | 11:01 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 28, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update 4/13/2013 : Flash Retooled with more Newgrounds music and less original content. same flash, different music.
I shold have done this sooner...
Also, Ryu's Scene near the end was altered. Originally, the joke was about having him sing "Pop Star" by Ken Hirai, but due to copyright issues I had to replace it with Guile's theme. Thankfully it goes with everything! :D

I'm back and with a treat for you all. SFII The Satire Edition. This was something that i've been wanting to do ever since the SF collab was announced.

It all started earlier this year when I decided to play through various ports and upgrades of the game and I slowly developed several ideas in the process. I even decided to read up on each character's bio just to understand their backstories a bit better. I started writing the script, got several VAs and got some additional help from other authors. overall it was a 4 month process.I even decided to add a few cameos from SF4 in it because in a parody, anything can happen.

The character based humor was somewhat inspired by Brawl Taunts. The humor ranges from childish to campy to crude to somewhat offensive, depending on your sense of humor. Even though I made 4 MK Mishaps flashes in the past, I'll admit that this project was challenging for me since this SF lacks the "Gory comedy" that Mortal Kombat was known for

Thanks to everyone who helped out. I can't add the whole cast to the author Credits section, but you guys have all been credited for your work in the flash anyway.

Enjoy and Happy New Year!

Reviews


FiergonFiergon

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Can we please be done with Street Fighter jokes?

...Or at the very least, the unfunny ones?



ZAPPO123ZAPPO123

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

nice

it was funny



XiaokageXiaokage

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Interesting

I'm a fan a Street Fighter myself, and the parody wasnt too bad. I enjoyed most of it!



robinkomrobinkom

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Meh...

The animation was consistent and well done. The voice acting was passable. The writing is where I felt it was lacking. I barely cracked a smile at this attempt in humor. I know enough about Street Fighter to understand their premise, but they're hardly worth devoting a whole sketch to. About the only thing I grinned at was the Bill & Ted reference because it wasn't related to anything central to these Street Fighter in-jokes.

Appealing only to a small group of people with in-jokes is something I would like to see less of entirely in video game parodies around Newgrounds, to be honest. If definitely doesn't get you any new fans.

The also seemed to be a lack of timing, setup and/or a punchline for a lot of the jokes. For example, in the copycat skit at the beginning, they throw one fireball each at one another and the "stop copying me" stuff begins. There was no time for it build up, you just went right into it. Even when they're saying it back and forth, "Stop copying me", it still remains rather flat. If their yelling escalated to more ridiculous point with a swerve for a punchline, it would have performed better.


People find this review helpful!

AlbergroundAlberground

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Sorry

if an user in youtube called "alberto16433" writed in the video you stole my move! "WHO THE HELL WROTE THIS CRAP?!", that's me, im sorry.
It's only a joke from FSM 7.