Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 13, 2010 | 2:39 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place December 15, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Doom
    Doom Before there were Halo spoofs, there were Doom spoofs.

Author Comments

Many many months ago, I had sort-of stumbled upon an article on KnowYourMeme about some kid's fan-fic of Doom. A game that is one of the first games I ever played growing up, so I hold it close and dear to my heart...when the Literature Portal launches, I'll elaborate...but this kid, "Peter Chimaera's" little fan-fic was so laughably bad, it was awesome.

Perusing through some of the derivatives that came through his all-around malformed story, I thought I could have a spot of fun by recording my own dramatic reading of it. So, in a matter of hours, I had recorded lines in different voices, threw in some sound effects I had lying around, and even arranged a soundtrack off my library. The sound file complete, it laid dormant in my hard-drive until I found the time to get around to it for an unpredictable amount of time.

Fast forward to Fall Semester 2010 at Collin County Community College; I'm taking Advanced 2D Flash Animation, and the professor told us to pretty much go nuts. Do whatever, anything at all. Hogabeast and I were STILL working on our Starfox parody at the time, but it contained some...not so school friendly material. Though in hindsight, the professor probably wouldn't have cared, I decided to delay the Starfox thing for the umpteenth time (sorry Adam) and storyboarded the .wav of my dramatic reading to Doom:RoE.

So, in the span of the entire semester, plus a couple of days (I presented the final with lip-syncs unfinished, Lost Souls disappearing in transitions, and the ending chunk still in storyboard form, and the class still seemed to dig it) I made this little gem to both entertain a Newgrounds audience and whomever stumbled across the same KnowYourMeme article like I did.

I had a LOT of fun working on this. For the anal reviewers, keep in mind I did it with the spirit of creative license, but please share your thoughts in the review section completely and thoroughly...one or few word reviews are pointless unless it's conveying WHY you did or did not like it.

I hope you enjoy it! Now I'm off to keep pumping out some animation and art! I'm ambitiously hoping to have a significantly higher output for animations in 2011...but I said that last year too, huh? lol

The music is 99.9% Audio Portal (There's one swelling note from the original soundtrack left in there from when Stalvern's Dad informs him he will be KILL BY DEMONS) and I gotta say, there's some real talent out there. YOU DON'T NEED COPYRIGHT PROTECTED MUSIC, TANK PEOPLE. Seek & Deploy! :D

-G-

Reviews


web2web2

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 24, 2011

that was

GREAT!
Loved every moment so this is gettin saved!


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

SAVED! Oooh lawdy

Thanks!


SupersandorSupersandor

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 15, 2011

so I found the fanfic

So I found the fanfic written by peter chimaera and the ASTOUNDING thing is that the narration of THIS VIDEO is NOT EVEN ABRIDGED! That's all there is to it! Here's the link to what I found:

http://www.peterchimaera.com/doom.htm l

How can something like that even be called a fanfiction? The whole thing is only 1 kilobyte! I type faster than most people usually talk so 1 kilobyte is about a minute worth of typing to me (and that's why I usually end up yapping on and on in my reviews and they get so easily to be 1000 or 2000 characters long), so it just seems amazing to me at least that anyone would bother putting something like that up, that ought to take so little effort. Although in some ways it's even funnier than this video. For instance, Dad said "No! You will BE KILL BY DEMONS", and when I saw this video I thought he at least said "killed", but no, he said kill; in other words, seeing the original text leaves no opportunity to miss any of the atrocious mistakes. Of course that particular simple sentence doesn't hold a candle to the hilarious Ren-And-Stimpy style animation of the father flipping out to deliver the message. I guess that is why they say when you TYPE IN ALL CAPS THAT YOU ARE YELLING. (When I type in all caps however, I feel more like I'm talking like Strong Mad, just being loud but not really yelling, but the author of this video apparently imagines a stronger emphasis to capital letters).


Phobotech responds:

...I know, right?


KristanigradKristanigrad

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 8, 2011

Pretty damn shiny

Love what you did - If only there was time for making such videos from all the crap fanfics bouncing around the interweb... and if only I could get the money/balls to buy/pirate flash.


Phobotech responds:

Ahhh but there is! Thousands of aspiring flash animators struggling to find a good source material to practice on, not caring if they'll fuck up the story if they make mistakes on the way.

HINT. HINT. (...Not specifically to you, but anyone this could be applying to.)

Besides, I'm hoping this is the worst story I ever animate. I'm saying that in this review now to totally embarrass myself if, at any point in the future, I accidentally animate something shittier than this.


rubberducky7rubberducky7

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2011

That'll do, pig, that'll do

This is definitly the best video remake of this story Ive seen, especially the part where he blows a hole in the wall then opens the door


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

WHO U CALLIN' A PIG...DUCKY...

lol, thanks very much. I had a...BLAST...animating that scene.

....

...thank you for the revyuhhh-


Monkey-From-HELMonkey-From-HEL

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 19, 2011

Very, very nice.

The animation was great.
So was the voice work.
I remember reading this story and laughing my ass off and this has just made me laugh at it some more, great work on a horrible piece of literature.


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

Thank you! That's a weird compliment on the end, but hey, that's what I get for deciding this was a project worth working on. I appreciate it!