Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 13, 2010 | 2:39 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place December 15, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Doom
    Doom Before there were Halo spoofs, there were Doom spoofs.

Author Comments

Many many months ago, I had sort-of stumbled upon an article on KnowYourMeme about some kid's fan-fic of Doom. A game that is one of the first games I ever played growing up, so I hold it close and dear to my heart...when the Literature Portal launches, I'll elaborate...but this kid, "Peter Chimaera's" little fan-fic was so laughably bad, it was awesome.

Perusing through some of the derivatives that came through his all-around malformed story, I thought I could have a spot of fun by recording my own dramatic reading of it. So, in a matter of hours, I had recorded lines in different voices, threw in some sound effects I had lying around, and even arranged a soundtrack off my library. The sound file complete, it laid dormant in my hard-drive until I found the time to get around to it for an unpredictable amount of time.

Fast forward to Fall Semester 2010 at Collin County Community College; I'm taking Advanced 2D Flash Animation, and the professor told us to pretty much go nuts. Do whatever, anything at all. Hogabeast and I were STILL working on our Starfox parody at the time, but it contained some...not so school friendly material. Though in hindsight, the professor probably wouldn't have cared, I decided to delay the Starfox thing for the umpteenth time (sorry Adam) and storyboarded the .wav of my dramatic reading to Doom:RoE.

So, in the span of the entire semester, plus a couple of days (I presented the final with lip-syncs unfinished, Lost Souls disappearing in transitions, and the ending chunk still in storyboard form, and the class still seemed to dig it) I made this little gem to both entertain a Newgrounds audience and whomever stumbled across the same KnowYourMeme article like I did.

I had a LOT of fun working on this. For the anal reviewers, keep in mind I did it with the spirit of creative license, but please share your thoughts in the review section completely and thoroughly...one or few word reviews are pointless unless it's conveying WHY you did or did not like it.

I hope you enjoy it! Now I'm off to keep pumping out some animation and art! I'm ambitiously hoping to have a significantly higher output for animations in 2011...but I said that last year too, huh? lol

The music is 99.9% Audio Portal (There's one swelling note from the original soundtrack left in there from when Stalvern's Dad informs him he will be KILL BY DEMONS) and I gotta say, there's some real talent out there. YOU DON'T NEED COPYRIGHT PROTECTED MUSIC, TANK PEOPLE. Seek & Deploy! :D

-G-

Reviews


dvaiskiladvaiskila

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2010

intresting

very intresting


Phobotech responds:

*Interesting...you misspelled it twice, and it's 2/3rds of your review. This is very useless.


Steven08Steven08

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2010

Good Job

I absolutely loved this. The story really is awful but that's what makes it so funny. The animation isn't the best I've ever seen but it's clean and efficient. The humor is really portrayed well through the animation, however. It's nice to know that there is such great talent in the area. I live in McKinney so I know where quad-c is.


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

Ha! That makes you second user to point that out! I used to live in McKinney back when I was a Sales Supervisor at Spencer's in Stonebriar mall...fuck that's a lot of "S's"...lol, but thanks for enjoying this! If there's ever an NG meet near the Metroplex, I hope to see you there :D


Great-RamboGreat-Rambo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2010

youch

I don't know Doom? but, anyway, i can apreciate it.

The animation is good, you're drawin' style is good too. When you tell the story, it sounds very captivating.

In one words, you've done a great job... i'm learning flash at the moment, and i hope that, a day, i'll be able to create an as good as animationthan you.

Thx for sharing, and keep up working


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

Aww, thanks man. It's all a practice. Practice Practice Practice. For years before I got flash, I was doodling on everything. Filling sketchbooks with crap, scribbled-out mistake doodles, and every once and a while I'd churn out something cool...that would help motivate me to keep practicing. When I finally DID get flash, I accidentally discovered "Onion Skins." It's a tiny little icon found at the bottom of your timeline, it should look like two squares, one on top of the other. This allows you to see a little bit of the frame before the one you're on, or after, or both...you can control it with the black sliders over the numbers on the timeline.

Anywho, after I discovered onion skins, that's when I started experimenting. A few hours later, and the results can be seen as my first submitted flash movie. You GOTTA fuck around with your program, because sometimes the best way to learn is to just dive into it. Just mess with it. "What happens if I do this? Okay, what happens if I try this?" Then look up tutorials, ask the forums, or even take classes for it...but most importantly:

Practice Practice Practice
Research Research Research

and you'll get it. :D

Thanks for the kind words and the good review! I'll keep it up, and in return, you keep practicing any time you have free time. When you're playing games, you could be practicing.

...also, "you've done a great job" is five words, not counting the contraction of "you have" :P


AodhanDAodhanD

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2010

Wow

That was awesome dude, keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

Thanks, will-do


MordozMordoz

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2010

pretty awesome!

Oh this deserves the 10's people give it big time!

I really like the facial expressions and the subtle humor placed into it as well as the overall feeling of the piece.

You didn't get too lazy with most of it . feels like a documentary would be. Although it seems like ti would be the premiere promotion of a documentary of his life maybe, with further show to be later for the details. Seeing it in that way, it does feel complete.

I usually hate memes with a passion but this is Great Work!
(im not rating on the animation movements, those were few and far between but the overall presentation was awesome. There seemed to be no need for any great animated characters running around too much anyway.)

10/10 5/5

666 demon thumbs up!

Your friendly neighborhood soda junkie,

MORDOZ


People find this review helpful!
Phobotech responds:

lol, well, thanks for the thorough review! The Documentary of John Stalvern would be a long and depressing one. Glad you liked this! :D