Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


MrExploosionMrExploosion

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 13, 2011

bravo!

really great game! Would you have a flash player 10 version though? I wanna take this with me on the road!



BoltManBoltMan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 11, 2011

Bug!

Really awesome game -- I love it, but I had to stop playing. There's a bug that makes my character continue walking in a direction even after the arrow button has been released. To stop him, I have to press that direction again. Seems to happen if I'm changing directions too quickly. I'm using Firefox on an Intel Mac.



xAyjAyxAyjAy

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 4, 2011

good but it could be better

the lazer code part is to fast for me, i cant get past the first laser.


PhotonStorm responds:

Bomb your way around it :) Or just keep failing on purpose - because every time you fail it adds +1 second to the timer for your next attempt. Also try this tip: read the numbers out aloud when they appear on-screen. You'll find it much easier to just type them in.


levijones12345levijones12345

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 1, 2011

Like it but...

I like it but it just goes on forever and gets more and more frustrating


PhotonStorm responds:

Trust me, it really doesn't go on forever. You can complete the whole thing in less than 30 mins.


09spearce309spearce3

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Awesome.

I would love this game on gameboy.