Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


CharlesFernandoCharlesFernando

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Love 8 bit games

What I like the most in your game was the two main characters, the alien looks bad ass!

My complain is you have to output the numbers too fast, my keyboard does not have numberpad, so I have to wait until more numbers are repeated... but no big deal, I persist and beat the game...


People find this review helpful!
PhotonStorm responds:

The lazer wall hacking has certainly got mixed views! Some find it a nice challenge, others hate it. I know a couple of guys who BOMBed around a whole map section just to avoid it! However.. if you fail the wall, it adds 1 second to your allowed time for your next go. And it keeps doing that. So if you do suck, you'll eventually succeed because the timer just gets longer and longer :)


scribbleWolfscribbleWolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

AWESOME!!!!

AWESOME!!!!!! x217381263781265



AVSAAVSA

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

The old days of glory

Great game, I played it through and I must say, hats off to you guys.

I'm sad you weren't born earlier to have played this game on my actual GB :D

Thanks for this time warp :)


People find this review helpful!

atlucasatlucas

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

For the gameboy interface alone

U gets a 10. Way 2 go


People find this review helpful!

uncanny474uncanny474

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Flirting with perfection

This game was almost soooo good, and then it kind of fell down.

The main problem was the freaking controls. Never have I seen a control system so obtuse. You can only move on a grid very, very slowly, while all your enemies were faster and more maneuverable. Hitting things with the gun was just a pain in the ass. The spaceship sections sucked--your ship is the most slippery thing I have every tried to fly. It's like it was skating on ice, not flying through space.

And yet...

The game was incredibly fun, the story was good for what it was, and while the collecting normally would have gotten boring, here it was too short to be annoying. Everything was there, just somewhat difficult to get to. I never wandered around wondering where to go--everything was just linear enough to be guiding without being restrictive. The bombs kind of broke the game, though--you could just jump into acid and they would all respawn, and give you an alternate route anywhere!!!

The secret room was findable without being obvious, and the arrows were somehow subtle enough to guide me perfectly.

Oh, and TEH BOMBZ CAN BLOWS UP SPACE!!!!!!! That earned you a star by itself.


People find this review helpful!