Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


mainvein33mainvein33

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Awesome!

Who ever did your musi rocks great game!


People find this review helpful!
PhotonStorm responds:

The incredible Rich Vreeland did :) www.disasterpeace.com for loads more cool tuneage!


LongDonJohnLongDonJohn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Respect.

Got everything a good classic GameBoy-Game should have. Much better than a lot of original released GB games, they should've gave you the possibility to make some really good ones instead. :)


People find this review helpful!

luXDluXD

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

A really great game !

I just completed it and must admit I am very impressed, the chiptune is magnificient, the graphics are really simple to understand, the gameplay could maybe use some work on the aiming (forced to walk one step to change the direction) but overall is satisfying.
This could however use some difficulty, I barely found another challenge than being patient enough to put the bombs in right places. Flixel is a great tool but I see too much pixelated games on newgrounds.
Anyway, I hope you make it a bit longer and more difficult, and make me able to play it on a real gameboy.
Good job !


People find this review helpful!

Ih8pkmnIh8pkmn

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Wow.

Aww... only 3 levels?
But the three levels that were in this game were fairly awesome. The lazer hacking was a bit rubbish, but other than that, it was fun.

I just wish we got to see what happened on the 4th planet. -sigh-


People find this review helpful!
PhotonStorm responds:

But isn't it great that you -don't- know? I mean, just think of the possibilities!


GalanielGalaniel

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

the question that remains

will there a homebrew ROM for actual gameboy usage (minus the keypad inputs, of course)


People find this review helpful!