Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


beerboydankbeerboydank

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

a great feel of retro

made me feel like a kid again



KrogarKrogar

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Awesome game

You had me with the GameBoy. Everything in this is great. Make a sequel!

The asteroids achievement is pretty tough, and I will have to play through again for a few of the achievements (like the speed run). Do the asteroid sequences affect the time for the speed run? Or is it only in the 3 levels? Does it include the intro scene where you walk to the cock pit?

Also, I was looking through the source code and I could not find any info on the secret medal. Did you forget to add it? checkAchievement11() and an 11th medal name string doesn't exist. IT'S TOO SECRET! Can we please receive a hint? Thanks in advance.

Also, have you considered allowing people to download this or play it elsewhere with the cheatMode enabled? Or perhaps allowing it once all medals have been acquired?

*************SPOILERS START*************
You can blow open doors with bombs to save keys. The walls and acid on Planet 2 can be destroyed. The walls on Planet 3 cannot; but the empty space (like acid) can.

Weapons will override the one you have. If you collect the shotgun before the the submachine gun, make sure you kill any sentries before collecting the submachine gun (this could be a potential problem on Planet 3); luckily sentry guns are optional.

For fun:
The boss can say the following things:
Eat my peas!
Muhahahahaha
Puny human
That barely tickled
Eat Lazer Death
Rather be playing Tetris
Stand still and die
Vermin!
Bite my bolts!
You shooting blanks?
How many lives??!

*************SPOILERS END*************


PhotonStorm responds:

You can press S to skip the asteroids part, so that will help keep the speed run time down. I increased the time limit to 20 mins (I can do it in 15, but from our stats no-one else can!).

Medal 11 is definitely in there. I knew people would look at the source so I left that function empty. It's actually very easy to get. Just don't be too hasty about quitting the end scroller.

If people really want a version hosted with cheats enabled (and no medals) then I'm happy to do that!


DwarvenSmokeDwarvenSmoke

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

I found it quite boring

I like the way it looks like you are playing on an actual gameboy, but I disliked the game play and controls, I found the game play quite boring and the controls slightly loose when walking and clunky while turning, but most likely it is just me, other people seem to love it, so keep up the good work


People find this review helpful!

YooCooperYooCooper

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

JONESY!!!!!

great game bro,really had a good time playing it!
you might want to know that i didn't hack the lazer in the first level,i just bombed the walls and walked around :P



ljdartenljdarten

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

truly awesome game

It shows that A lot of work and love went into this.

I also always wanted to make games for the gameboy but was too young, unfortunately I don't have the skill to make an homage like this. great work.

I beat it but I may play it some more as there seems to be more hidden in this game. I know from the medals that I missed the secret area but I think there might be more. like some numbers I saw around the maps.


People find this review helpful!