Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


ThyGentlemanThyGentleman

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

Awsome

I love how you did the gamboy borderline, that was amazing! The game it a todays classic hit! I hope in the next one it will be a gameboy pocket borderline.



GROOV3ST3RGROOV3ST3R

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

It works!!!

Finally got it to work :)
Must say that waiting was worth it :) Awesome game :) It's done in a very authentic way, brilliantly presenting a GameBoy style flash. Very good work :) Even music is authentic. I love the depth of the sound when you kill an enemy - the bass line from the blast is just pure awesomness :)

Great :)



titeuftiteuf

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

good job

your game is totally amasing.... but I have a question did I can find the same board for my computer... you know with the bird the green glue with eyes ...



BadBeatBadBeat

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

Technically awesome

It's a very well put together game, no doubt about it, but my big problem with it is that there is pretty much no consequence to death. It removes almost all the challenge in the game and makes completeing it, not a matter of skill, but merely a matter of time. While you often *need" to die to reset the blocks/bombs, I'd have suggested adding some other mechanic to reset and give death some penalty to introduce some level of tension.

I dug the humour though. The planet names amused me. As did the Aliens quotes. :)


PhotonStorm responds:

There isn't a single puzzle in the game that you NEED to die to complete. If you needed to die, you didn't complete the puzzle correctly :) I just wanted people to have fun with it. I'd rather they finish the game and think it was too easy, than never get past the 3rd room because they lost all their lives.


ristar2ristar2

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

Good idea

But I cant play past level one due to massive controller lag, the controls take effect about 5 seconds after i push the button, giving me no reaction time. So i play a lot of "good games of golf"