Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


singarequiemsingarequiem

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 23, 2011

Super fun!

Totally enjoyed the time i spent playing this game. Love the old school graphics and music. And the fact your looking for your cat totally helps its case. I also like that there weren't any lives to deal with. If there were, i would have quit in about 5 minutes. All in all, a pretty good game c:


People find this review helpful!

Draco1976Draco1976

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 21, 2011

Ahhh...the old Game Boy!!!!

I enjoyed that...like a small trip down memory lane ;)



dargoondargoon

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 18, 2011

egg

if u click the on off button on top of the tv it will show something game kinda sucks no offense



SeymourGSeymourG

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 15, 2011

It was okay

This game was pretty good, I will give you that, but two things dented this game for me:
1. The fact that when I trapped myself with no way out, I would have to restart the game to play again....
2. It got repetitive, as in the goal was to get a bomb and blow things up to make passages, so I would use a bomb or two, go die, use another few, go die, etc...

Other than that, pretty good game.



gumsgums

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2011

Rare

to see such dedication, goes such a long way in proving graphics mean nothing in the midst of a project that has so much passion involved.
Proper mint this is. Well done to you all!


People find this review helpful!