Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 8, 2010 | 1:22 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place December 9, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Hello Joshua 5 Points Hack any planets first lazer wall without failing
M41-A 5 Points Kill all bots on any level
Atari wouldn't like it 10 Points Destroy 30 asteroids during the story sequences
Autopilot to LV-426 10 Points Complete Planet 1
Express elevator to hell 10 Points Complete Planet 2
Farewell Sulaco 10 Points Complete Planet 3
Eric and the Floaters 25 Points Destroy 20 bots using only bombs
I'll go out there 25 Points Bomb your way to the secret area on Planet 2
Faster than a UD4L Cheyenne 50 Points Complete the game in under 20 mins in one sitting
We love you guys Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

v1.3 = Updated December 24th 2010 (see bottom)

Created in the style of a Gameboy Classic title, this is a space-action pixel-art adventure!

There is much planet exploring, bot shooting, bomb exploding, lazer wall hacking, sentry gun evading, cat finding fun to be had :)

We like to think of Cat Astro Phi as a mini-Zelda in space. Obviously we'll never be as good as Zelda, but you've got to have something to aim for, right?

The fantastic soundtrack was created by Rich Vreeland of disasterpeace.com - hit the Extras option in the menu for more details. The pixel magic was spun by Ilija Melentijevic. Yes he used only 4 colours for the whole game, and a resolution of 160x144 (just like a real Gameboy). There are more details to be found in the End Credits scroller, if you manage to complete the game ;)

Oh and please - don't be fooled into thinking this is just some lame Asteroids shmup. If that's all you think, you didn't play it far enough :)

Many thanks to Adam Atomic for his support, Tom Fulp for believing in us and sponsoring, and you guys for playing!

Good luck Space Cadet :)

v1.3 Update

This addresses a few bugs people have found:

1) You can't die if the lazer wall override panel is open
2) Pausing while hacking the lazer wall used to lock the game, now fixed
3) Removed console key
4) You no longer need to save bots from Sentry Gun fire to get the Pacifist medal
5) You can't blow up space on level 3 (sorry :)
6) You can't fire / move while the space ship is taking off
7) If you paused while the pause overlay was tweening out, it got stuck
8) Fixed small bug in the M41-A medal where it wouldn't reset bot killed counter between planets properly
9) Version number is now displayed on Credits screen in the text at the bottom

Note: I've re-submitted the SWF to NG, but because this is a featured game it may take a while for them to approve it. Basically if it says v1.3 in the Credits screen (it pops-up at the bottom) then cool. Otherwise, try again another day please!

Reviews


teza789teza789

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2010

good but a few problems...

its a good game but ive came across a few things..
when u die all the monsters keep moving and somtimes move onto my spawn point so i die again..also sometimes the laser over ride screen doesnt come up and im just standing there looking like a idoit.
but in all the game is great but im proubly never going to play it again.


People find this review helpful!
PhotonStorm responds:

Bots can't move onto spawn points, but it's easy for them to collide with you as you move away from the spawn (they can do it so fast it doesn't look like you moved at all). Once you've failed the lazer over-ride there is a 5 second delay before it re-appears. Just so it keeps out of your face really!


shadowblade9991shadowblade9991

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2010

Nice but i found a glitch

When i went to the laser wall override thing, i soon got frustrated and i pushed a random series of numbers. Eventually some side pannel came up and said "setting new spawn point x: 184 y: 408" it wasn't actually just the number though. From whats there I can tell these are recent spawns Ive been too.


PhotonStorm responds:

You pressed the console key (') where you can check the frame rate, memory use, etc - just press it again to close it. Will make sure we disable this for our next game!


jmark9911jmark9911

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 21, 2010

Nice

I really liked the Idea and theme of this game. I kind of miss my Game Boy now. It isnt to hard to get the hang of. Overall a fun game to help waste time.


People find this review helpful!

krool-kitty419krool-kitty419

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2010

Really cute and fun game

Makes me miss gb games so much


People find this review helpful!

miguelcatomiguelcato

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2010

nice

let's all go retro to the gbc times and BSkiller7 go f#$% your self


People find this review helpful!