Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


SlimJimSmithSlimJimSmith

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Soild gaming

Love it, great game. Just the right length in game time, addictive little thing that you cant stop playing, good story...definatly trying again to get the other ending


People find this review helpful!

TheTrueLizardTheTrueLizard

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2010

Great game!

I like the multiple endings as well, especially the real ending.



BonzoToddBonzoTodd

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2011

Amazing

I just got my account on Newgrounds, and this is the first review that I've written.

I thought that this game was fantastic--It's possibly my favorite game on this site. I've played this game many times, and even though I know all the endings, I play this game over and over again. Really, there's some sort of indescribable charm that this game has. The control scheme is simple and natural, making jumping, climbing, and flying around very fun. The art style of this game seems quite minimalistic. Yet, the diverse lands in a huge world eliminate the need for stunning graphics. With these different lands, the music matches each perfectly, setting appropriate tones that make the game's environment so immersing. I also liked how there was also very little text. This game had a great story that took a surprising turn, but while you are exploring, the fact that characters are spaced so far apart and only speak a sentence or two makes the adventure feel like it's your own, and conveys a sense of solitude. All of these things create a beautiful fantasy environment that makes me want to play Endeavor again and again.

This is a great game that really gave me a unique experience. Keep up the awesome work!


People find this review helpful!

Archg0dtsunamiArchg0dtsunami

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 3, 2010

Nice gameplay

For a very simple game it does the job. Has many different routes and essentials to try and complete the game. Though the game had a small story it drove a huge impact near the end and the whole endeavor of the quest.


People find this review helpful!

Gman513Gman513

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Mind Blwoing

That was one of the most epic games I've ever played on Newgrounds. Deserves 20 out of 10 but Newgrounds cannot compute such awesomeness.


People find this review helpful!