Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


railbonesrailbones

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2010

thank you...

..for the amazing experience. and i got all the medals, and that is the first for me. thank you. it was a truly amazing game. i'll always remember this.


People find this review helpful!

urchin8urchin8

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2013

A truly amazing game. You need to get this to ludum dare!



CharasmaticCreationCharasmaticCreation

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Amazing

I loved playing every second of this, the exploration, the feel, the music all of it just makes for a fantastically enjoyable and great game. Really put me in the Christmas spirit too for some reason lol. Keep up the brilliant work!


People find this review helpful!

gundamkiller-988gundamkiller-988

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

love it

lovin the multiple endings and all the exploration..... had fun killing everything when i first played through LMAO "DIE YOU!".... but yeah dunno what people are talking about with the freezing... either you fixed or somethin but whateves :P


People find this review helpful!

BruceSmithBruceSmith

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2010

Amazing pixel game!

I thought this game was amazing. The music and style was incredible and I quickly fell in love with the platforming elements. The story was detailed with interesting characters that made the world feel not as empty as SOC (although I agree with the comparisons to SOC).

I've beaten it two times. Still haven't gotten the "hero" ending but I'm sure I'll go back and do that soon. The flowers were a great idea. It kept the boring "search everywhere" aspect of a lot of games like this out of the picture.

Not too much criticism, just suggestions really. I guess I wouldn't have minded more items, backstory, or endings although you probably wanted to keep the length down to manageable. Maybe a pet or friend who follows you around?

I can't wait for the sequel!


People find this review helpful!