Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


DrippyDrOopDrippyDrOop

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2010

Honestly...

One of the best games I've ever played on newgrounds. Thanks for the fun Zillix!


People find this review helpful!

TrubequeTrubeque

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

*gasp*

The ending was FAN-TAST-TIC but it kind of frusterated me :P please make a sequel


People find this review helpful!

johnfnjohnfn

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2010

In a world deluged by crappy games...

One man's efforts make a difference.

The gameplay in this game was amazing. The controls were solid, they responded perfectly to my every touch, and you clearly made a lot of smart decisions with level design. The 'touch the plants to see where you've been' was a brilliant choice. Nothing was a bore (except admittedly that one level where you have to guess how to fall down - but that's just a speck on the otherwise flawless surface).

The decision to have no combat was brilliant and bold at the same time, especially these days when everyone loves to see blood. Alright, there was the lightening, but nothing ever fought back.

This game reminded me a lot of Cave Story (an excellent, free platformer). I'm sure you drew from there, because a lot of the themes are similar. But take heart; you've done well. Cave Story was one of my favorite games of all time; this plays like a prelude to it. That is one of the highest compliments I can give.

Well done.


People find this review helpful!

GryphonInTheFleshGryphonInTheFlesh

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 2, 2010

Beautiful work!

I love your style! The story was very interesting, and I love jumping from ledge to ledge before my stamina runs out :)

But there is one thing... There is a leopard or wolf creature in the mountains that sleeps. You cannot reach it, but if you kill a blue dwarf like creature that's light blue... in the upper region, the leopard disappears. I have no idea where to find him. Is there some sort of story or mini quest behind this?


People find this review helpful!
Zillix responds:

The exciting answer: the leopard is the only creature that you can't kill, it runs away to a secluded cave after you kill the only friend it's ever had- the blue creature on the mountain.

The boring answer: the leopard is unreachable, and he shares the same ID as the blue guy so killing one makes it so the other doesn't get loaded =P


nebotte35nebotte35

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 4, 2010

nice

this game is so awesome!!!! an old style pixeled game!!!! but its still great...
one question plz....ummm..,,, how do you kill monsters???, i got 7 gems can u plz tell where r the others....and one more......wat is the snow leopard doin???is it part of the game???? (plz tell me plzplzplzplzplzpzl)

=)