Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


RalxtewRalxtew

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 3, 2010

Thumbs up

Simple GFX, simple gameplay. it was highly addictive tbh, keep up hte good work :3



GKillerGKiller

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 6, 2010

Wow! Great story

The story was good itself and got all 3 ending, they were great, but i predicted them. Not original at all :S
Good ambient, music and everything else :) 5/5 9/10



DaMiStudiosDaMiStudios

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 4, 2010

Great game!

Nice and smooth controls, they can take a moment to get used to but after that is is very easy to control the player.
Multipule storylines are nice, only found 2 possible ones as of the current time, but don't know how many more if any, there are.

The large game map is nice but it can be slightly hard to go to a specific point sometimes. PLayers need to play the game one to to a good knowladge of where most things are.

The endurance system is very cool and runs very smooth. POwerups to reduce the endurance cost are an interesting idea.

The images/artwork are very nice and are a high detail level for a Fixel run game. The audio can seem repetitive if the player is in one area for a while but that's not a major issue.

The addition of a new medals is nice. With a single game completed the player can get 3-4 medals easily.

Great game overall! 5/5 9/10


People find this review helpful!

KainLazbardKainLazbard

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2010

Sweet game.

While I will admit that it resembles Shadow of the Colossus in some respects, I wouldn't say it takes everything from that game. This game focuses primarily on exploration and trying to escape a strange land, while SotC was about taking down giant beasts to bring back a loved one. Besides, not being able to die isn't the point of this game.

I give you a 9. Keep up the good work, bro.


People find this review helpful!

SevenAkwardDaysSevenAkwardDays

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 5, 2010

Everything was great except...

It was long. No other words for it unless you add 'very'. I wanted to get the other endings but I was just not willing to go through finding all of the crystals AGAIN.


People find this review helpful!