Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


FosmoreFosmore

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Excellent game.

I love how there are multiple twists to the game depending on how you get up to the top, I am just not sure how many there are, but if/when I replay it, I know I sure won't do what I did the first time, thats for sure, I just wonder what the other three Secret Achievements are.


People find this review helpful!

JtkBasketballJtkBasketball

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

I took 26 souls I belong down here forever.

So I can't continue, but awesome game. I couldn't stop playing. I didn't know if I was in hell or what. I thought I was saving people, but maybe I wasn't. I feel bad for killing the innocent. I don't feel bad for killing those asshole trolls. Overall... GREAT GAME


People find this review helpful!

CrazyaimCrazyaim

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Hmmm

I have to agree with the former posts, this is a truely excellent piece of flash. True that on occasion I got slightly lagged down, only slightly...didn't bother me at all because the game was fantastic. What I liked the most was the pixel appearance, a really nice touch. The way the game evolved is something you don't see enough of and it made you think about things as well. I was trying for ages to get to the island at the top right in the top world, the one where the light stops. Ah well. If you can be inspired to make a game like this, really hope you'll make another similar game. Kudos and well done!


People find this review helpful!

decom1885decom1885

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

I played I thought I conqured. I didn't.

Great game, it all made sense too late... If I have time I shall return.



Wtiny2Wtiny2

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

one word

EPIC (my first time saying epic :)


People find this review helpful!