Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


Old-IronsidesOld-Ironsides

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

awesome!

there is nothing wrong with this game, cool music, simple game play, fairly simple puzzles just great.

**Spoiler**
So i beat it once by collecting all the gems and basically letting the evil guy out.

I then got the gloves and the lighting attack and found the fruit of youth by climbing the mountain to the far far west, and beat it by stabbing the sword in the stone.

But how does the tiger play into the story? also I think you can collect more gems then you need?


People find this review helpful!

insanejoker84insanejoker84

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Wonderful!!!

I liked this game alot, it was so captivating and original!!! Keep making games like this and you are bound to be the best!


People find this review helpful!

OmrikonOmrikon

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Outstandutastilievabelicious!

By which I mean I enjoyed it a great deal. The whole thing meshed very well, and managed to be interesting and varied without being complicated or even frustrating.
Plus, the character was descript enough for the games needs, but vague enough to allow a degree of immersion in the character.
All in all, quite nice indeed.


People find this review helpful!

KaskasKaskas

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

Brilliant storytelling and instant clasic

I love this game for sure, it just gives much more than i was expenting, it looks really simple but got lots of surprises and replayabiliy.

I also love how the world behaves to the character.


People find this review helpful!

lewajetlewajet

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2010

HA HA HA HA

HA HA HA HA i have become one with the dark side HA HA HA HA HA....


People find this review helpful!