Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 1, 2010 | 2:01 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 2, 2010
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 8, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Endeavor 5 Points Fall to the world below.
Glutton 5 Points Collect 10 endurance fruits.
Infamous 5 Points Kill 5 creatures.
Smell the Roses 5 Points Touch 100 flowers.
Antibiotic 10 Points Kill 20 creatures.
Florist 10 Points Touch 300 flowers.
Only the Strongest 10 Points Max out your endurance bar.
Overachiever 10 Points Collect 11 gems.
Hero Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pawn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Savage Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Forever, Endeavor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Endeavor is a game about a dwarf trying to uncover an ancient secret. Or maybe it's about exploring, climbing, and swimming. Or perhaps it's about collecting powerups and treasure. Or possibly it's just about killing things.

With multiple endings, quests, interactive npcs and ambient critters, it's my most involving game yet! It features many original musical tracks, several upgrades, and an engaging climbing and endurance scheme.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move
X to jump
Up/Down arrows to climb
P to pause and display collections
C to advance text
Q to return to the title screen (Use this if the game gets stuck for some reason!)

Volume controls:
-/+ to adjust volume
0 to mute

This game was made in one month for the Ludum Dare October challenge, though it took another month for release!

If you like this game, be sure to check out some other AWESOME games that inspired me!
-Shadow of the Colossus
-Knytt
-Level Up!
-Robot Wants Kitty

You can find a full map of the game at
http://www.newgrounds.com /dump/item/b5abecad 348ed91d8bc748a2b44a65bf
(Remove the two spaces in the link to get it to work... I'm not sure why it's doing that!)

Enjoy!
Feel free to pm me with any comments or questions you have!

-Zillix

Note: Once you've reached an ending, you won't be able to get a different ending without restarting the game. Don't worry, getting the other endings is much faster when you know where everything is!

Update: Some people are getting lag whenever they touch a flower- this is due to an auto-save feature that I've decided to remove (note that the game still autosaves whenever you collect a powerup or switch screens, just not on touching flowers anymore). I've submitted the latest version which should get approved soon, so bear with me! Thanks for playing!

Update 12/2: There seems to be a bug with running out of endurance underwater and getting trapped in air bubbles. I'm working on fixing it! If this happens, press Q to return to the main menu, and then reload your save file.

Update 12/3: Patched to fix the underwater bug, pressing escape now pauses AND unpauses. Added tip menu screen to press p to see collections. Also added an additional creature on the island above the light beam. Hopefully the update goes live soon!

Update 12/11: Added a link to a full map of the game, see above!

Reviews


MizzjuicyflavaMizzjuicyflava

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Lovely and enchanting.

I love this game. It brings back memories on NES games. Its so wonderful!. It has so mant places to explore. It just keep surprising me. Great job and keep them coming


People find this review helpful!

ElbenjyoElbenjyo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Great game!

Do I detect a heavy SHadow of the Colossus or Knyt influence? Weakened deity asks you to bring it's power back, by doing something for it, but has its own motives? Endurance metre measures how long you can hold on to something? This sword is the only thing that can slay it/them? Plus the detector and collecting things to go home/ exploration reminded me of Knyt strongly. Now, down to the actual review. This game. Is awesome. A vast world, collecting things, talking to people, gahering gems/ souls. This game is probably one of the best I've played on Newgrounds. Thanks for posting!


People find this review helpful!

iamsmurf317iamsmurf317

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Highly enjoyable.

There were some difficult parts, but overall it was a great way to stay entertained. Keep making games like this, and you will have yourself a new fan.
~ iamsmurf317


People find this review helpful!

SmokinManSmokinMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Awesome

great game ! took me a while to find all the endings tough


People find this review helpful!

RedHand777RedHand777

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Wonderful

The massive world from a Zelda title, Mario-style platforming, and a Metroid-style complete open-endedness. I, because I am not a terribly clever person, would benefit slightly from some direction in one way or the other. However, stellar game!


People find this review helpful!