Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 20, 2010 | 3:43 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 21, 2010
  • Weekly 2nd Place November 24, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Half Game 10 Points Half Of All Elements Discovered
Nuclear Bomb 10 Points Nuclear Bomb Discovered
7 Mortal Sins 25 Points 7 Mortal Sins
All Game 50 Points All Element Discovered
All Game With No Hints 100 Points All Elements Discovered With No Hints (actually, you can ONE hint)

Author Comments

Doodle Devil has been created to maintain balance in the Universe, to mess up with Doodle God. And now you have to aid Doodle Devil in destruction of everything.

You've already created a whole Universe from the four basic elements and you don't know what to do next? Destroy everything to the ground! Discover the seven deadly sins and there will be no coming back for you! Try to combine elements and invent murder, death, demons, beasts, zombies... which will destroy everything.

Reviews


upchuck1234upchuck1234

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

lol

man+man= friendship
yes cuz its not like it could mean anything else


People find this review helpful!

CaptAcidCaptAcid

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

Fun to discover *SPOILERS*

But is it really fun to play? I suppose that depends on what you find entertaining in a game that has trial and error as it's primary gameplay.

See, although I found looking for different combinations entertaining for a while, once you get more complex combinations, it becomes overwhelming to an extent. There are several contributing factors to this (And this is assuming you actually want to finish the game.)
*SPOILERS*

Firstly, some of the combinations really do not make any practical sense and are entirely subjective to the creator (aka you). This game really becomes more about what cliches you can remember than what elements actually make sense to go together.

Secondly, some combinations that should seem obvious do not produce the element you would expect. For example , if you combine "soul" and "corpse" you might expect zombie. And then there are some misleading examples like "Magic" and "woman" which produces a witch, but if you do the same combo with a man, it creates a "worm"as opposed to something like, say, a "wizard"?

Ultimatley the subjective nature of the recipes leads for a very random and convulated experiance, which only worsens as the recipes become more complex. There is no real gameplay to be had since in order to really understand the game's recipes you need to make certain leaps in faith for the more abstract recipes that produce abstract elements (like wrath or murder).

The tutorial is servicable but doesnt really give you the necessary direction in how to figure out the more complex combinations aside from trial and error, which is a shame, because the concept is so interesting.

The music fit the mood and didnt annoy me, so positive marks there.

I also liked the addition of a hint button with a cooldown to help move the game along if you get stuck, but unfortnately, after about the 50th element, you find yourself relying way too much on it.

I realize some people may argue that discovering the abstract elements through random selection is fun, but I think on the whole most people like a challenging game with a good pace, and the nescessary mechanics to make it to the finish. This game however, starts to bog down in the middle and doesnt bring anything new along the way except new elements.

Final comments:
-Convulutated/Subjective recipe mechanic (Core gameplay) that bogs down the mid-late game
+Acceptable music selection that is appropiate to the theme
-Simplistic gameplay with nothing new introduced along the way to improve pace
+/-Hint Button that is helpful but ultimatly acts as a patch to help move the game along when the player becomes inevitabley stuck.

6/10- Good concept bogged down by subjective and simplistic gameplay that offers no real satisfaction other than discovering new elements. If you like the sense of wonder that comes from random discovery, this could be for you, but be aware it offers diminishing returns.

Good luck with future flashes!


This review is insanely well received!

MongFeaturesMongFeatures

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

Doodle God was great, I'm glad this is a repeat

Obviously not everything is going to be as intuitive as one mya hope (or be prejudiced towards).

My only minor quibble is that considering we have real world evils (politicians, war, suffering etc.) why the designer felt the need to put in Vampires et al. Keeping it more mundane may have been an atmospheric improvement.


People find this review helpful!

rehydrated-piraterehydrated-pirate

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

good game

why does man + magic = worm?



OrteilOrteil

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2010

Oh, interesting.

Well this is kind of unexpected. I like the twist, but why isn't that simply an expansion of the first game ? Like, a big update ?
Anyway. The game is still fun, the artwork is still gorgeous and the music still very fitting. But as with the first game, a lot of combinations don't make much sense and just aren't very intuitive, which makes me wait often for that lightbulb to light up. However, I liked some of the few interactions that made sense while still not being so obvious (the Sloth combinations made me laugh).
It bothers me a bit that this game is taking a more explicitly religious turn, instead of the initial "Mix everything, make everything" premise.

(Also why doesn't "book+sex" do anything ?)


People find this review helpful!